Book Review: Resistance (Ilyon Chronicles: Book 1)

image

Rating: 5/5 stars.

When I first heard of Resistance, I was afraid that it might be preachy. So I dismissed it at the time, thinking I might, might read it later. A little while later my friend Amanda (blogger of Scattered Journal Pages) read it and said that it was amazing. So I decided to read it. And man was she right!

Resistance is the first book of the Ilyon Chronicles. It is a thick book, but I read it in four days (I would’ve finished quicker if I hadn’t had school.). I absolutely loved this book! I’m so excited to read the rest of the series, but sad too because I have to wait for most of them to come out.

I haven’t read many books from Christian Fiction authors (Bryan Davis is one of them, his books are amazing!) and this is the first time that I’ve ever read anything from Jaye L. Knight (also known as Molly Evangeline), but I have to say this is definitely one of my top Christian Fiction books. You won’t be disappointed with it.

Naturally this book has two main characters: Jace and Kyrin. Jace struggles with his past and who he is. Kyrin, on the other hand, knows who she is. She is a follower of King Elôm, when most people in Ilyon follow Aertus and Vilai. If Emperor Daican finds out about her beliefs, she may be killed. There are also two secondary main characters: Rayad and Kaden. Rayad is a mentor/father figure to Jace and teaches him about Elôm. Kaden is Kyrin’s twin brother. He has a temper and is very protective over his sister.

I can’t really find any fault with this book. The characters are so well described that you really feel for them (Like you are there experiencing all their pain, joy, fear, etc.). It is so well written and descriptive. At the start of the book it can get a bit overwhelming with all the different characters (But isn’t that with all books?), but from there it adds and takes away characters gradually and you can remember who’s who quite easily. It was very fast-paced and swept you into the world of Ilyon right from the start. I never wanted to put it down.

I’d recommend this to anyone who loves Christian Fiction no matter if they like fantasy or not. It definitely does not really seem like fantasy. This book was spectacular, go ahead and read it then you’ll see for yourself. You can support the author by ordering it from her website: Jaye L. Knight! She will even autograph it if you ask her.

-G. Paige

