Book Review: The King’s Scrolls (Ilyon Chronicles: Book 2)

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00026]

Rating: 5/5 stars.

What can I say??? This book, the second in the Ilyon Chronicles, left me speechless. I can’t say that I “loved” what happened in this book (Some parts made me want to cry and I do NOT cry.), but I loved the book immensely.

In the first book we see only Humans, peaceful Talcrins, and some terrifying Ryriks (not including Jace). In this book we are introduced to the Cretes and some creatures known as dragons. I just love this world with all the different races and fantastic creatures.

After the events that transpired in Resistance, things are looking up for those in Landale Forest. Winter is approaching and everyone is looking toward a few months of quiet peace. That is, until cretes arrive on dragons bringing information that could change the future for the “traitors”. Hidden in a valley is a crete who is known to have the last surviving copy of the King’s Scrolls (also known as the Word of Elôm). Together with the cretes, the people of Landale must race against time to find the faithful crete and bring him to safety before Emperor Daican’s men catch him.

The main characters are still Jace and Kyrin, but I think this book focuses a bit more on Kyrin and her family (The Altairs) which includes William (Father), Lydia (Mother), Marcus, Liam, Kaden (He is one of the two secondary main characters who we meet in Resistance.), Michael, and Ronan (also known as Ronny). I have to say that I absolutely love Liam! He is such a good guy just trying to walk on the right path. Another character that plays a significant role is the General (Lydia’s Father; Kyrin and her siblings’ grandfather). There are also some new characters you will come to know and love. In this book Jace faces a fear he has had most of his life and struggles with pain. Kyrin deals with pain of a different kind.

The King’s Scrolls was very well written and descriptive. I was fully immersed in this beautiful tale. I can’t stop thinking about it! It was amazing. Through the whole book I felt for the characters every step of the way. It was wonderful. It was very fast-paced and will keep you on the edge of your seat during the whole book.

I would recommend this book to absolutely anyone who loves Christian Fiction. You certainly don’t have to love fantasy to love this series. It will capture your heart.

G. Paige

