Book Review: Heartless (Tales of Goldstone Wood: Book 1)

image

Rating: 4/5 stars.

This was a beautiful fairytale with quite a twist. I positively loved this book. The only reason I wouldn’t give this book five stars probably was because it was very fairytale-ish and I don’t think that is my favorite type of story.

Princess Una of Parumvir is now eighteen and so will soon marry a man who has come to “pay his respects”. She has dreams of a handsome and charming prince but the first to come she considers stodgy and boring. The Prince of Farthestshore has come a long way to prove his love to Princess Una; Aethelbald will not give up. He also brings dire warnings of a dragon coming to Parumvir, but is ignored for all his effort. Soon Una gives her heart to another prince, so when the Dragon King himself arrives, she is in mortal danger along with all of Parumvir. Will anyone come and risk all to save her and Parumvir?

So, you see, it sounds and is very much like a fairytale. But it has such a twist (that started about halfway through the book) that made me really like it. It was a really really good book. I thoroughly enjoyed every part of it. There were a few twists (as I’ve already stated) and turns that surprised me more than a bit. It had plenty of danger and excitement that was just wonderful. The romance, ah, was so sweet. It was such a perfect “good” book. Do you know what I mean? It had that happy calm feel throughout most of the book

I do wish the author had explained why the Prince of Farthestshore loved Princess Una so much, because, to me, it felt like she never did. Besides that, I really have no complaints. I’d recommend this to anyone who likes fairytales and/or fantasy. It is fantastic! I’m very excited to read more from this author.

-G. Paige

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Heartless (Tales of Goldstone Wood: Book 1)

  1. Nice review! 🙂

    The one sentence answer for that complaint is: The Prince loves Una because it’s kind of an allegory about how Jesus loves us even if we’re a “dragon” inside. 🙂 I think it wasn’t stated because it’s for people who need to hear that to pick up on, and for others to just enjoy as a romance. 🙂

    Like

    • That makes perfect sense, Rebekah! I hadn’t thought of it that way. But yeah, that totally makes sense. Thanks for commenting and mentioning that. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.