BLOG TOUR-Author Interview: Water Princess, Fire Prince (The Rizkaland Legends: Book 1) by Kendra E. Ardnek

Hey everyone!!! Here is another post that is part of the Water Princess, Fire Prince Blog Tour. Today, I am posting an interview I got to have with the author. Enjoy!

Author Bio:
imageKendra E. Ardnek loves fairy tales and twisting them in new and exciting ways. She’s been practicing her skills on her dozen plus cousins and siblings for years, “Finish your story, Kendra”, is frequently heard at family gatherings. Her sole life goal has always been to grow up and be an author of fantasy and children’s tales that also glorify God and his Word. You can read more about her on her blog,knittedbygodsplan.blogspot.com.
Free Books!
31st-4th:
Do You Take This Quest? http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CFDHFT4/
31st ONLY:
My Kingdom for a Quest: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RN7T004
1st – 5th:
For more details on the blog tour and to see who is posting, click here.

When did you decide that you wanted to become an author?

When I realized that books were written by people and it was a viable career option for me. I did get distracted for a few years with screenwriting, however, the screenplays I wrote are what eventually evolved into Rizkaland, so I’ll forgive them.

When did you first get thoughts for the Rizkaland Legends?
Shortly after the first of the new Narnia films came out. I was dissatisfied with a few of the changes they made, so some friends and I decided to perform our own version, which meant we needed a script. As the eldest, and most adamant about the plot, I was elected to write it. (Although, I’m not sure there was an actual election, I just took over)
Due to our limited resources and cast, I had to make some changes. The beavers became horses. All four Pevensies became girls. Aslan became a giraffe, and so on and so forth until the story morphed until it became what is now book 2 of the Rizkaland Legends which is scarcely recognizable as what it began as.

Are there any major changes you made to Water Princess, Fire Prince from its first draft to its publication?
Not as many as the sequel!
WPFP went through only two complete drafts, One written over the course of five years, one finished in five (not necessarily consecutive) months. The same basic plot, most of the same basic characters – most of my major plot changes were hammered out before I even put my pen to paper in the first place.
However, some to note are:
Andrew went from a youngest to the eldest.
The prophesy changed.
The initial setting changed Hawaii to Texas.
I got rid of Nerissa. We won’t discuss Nerissa.

Where did the name Rizkaland come from?
Well, pretty soon into the writing process of the script, I realized that I couldn’t call it Narnia if I was making as many changes as I was, so we named it …. Arcaland.
However, my mom pointed out that it was a bit too close to Archenland (which had been what I was trying to do, but nevermind that) and we needed a different name. One of the friends suggested Rishcaland, which I didn’t quite like, because it reminded me of a Rickshaw, but I tweaked it into Riscaland. I blame refrigerator magnets for the change to Rizkaland.

Were any of the characters’ names picked for a significant reason? Why?
Clara was named after the character in the Nutrcacker Ballet, because I’m slightly obsessed with the Nutcracker. I picked her middle name (not disclosed in the book, but it’s Lynn), because it means “Waterfall”
Andrew was named after my dad.
Kath and Rich were named after my sister and I – her middle name is Kathlene, and I would have been named Richard if I had been a boy,
And several of the Rizkaland characters were named after the patriarchs of the old testament. This didn’t start out on purpose, but some of them were.

What part of Water Princess, Fire Prince was the most exciting to write?
Oh … wow … there were a lot of exciting scenes (as you well know, having beta read it!), but I would have to say it was … the first chapter of part 4, I loved writing those plot twists.

Which character(s) in Water Princess, Fire Prince is most like you in looks/attributes?
Surprisingly, I identify best with Amber, the villain. Physically, the only difference between us is she has brown eyes, I have blue. We both have a slight weakness when it comes to power. Mwahaha.

When are you thinking the next book in the Rizkaland Legends will be out?
Hopefully next summer, but we’ll see what happens!

Do you have any thoughts/ideas for other books separate from the Rizkaland Legends?
Almost all of my writing connects at some level or another, most of it fitting into either my Rizkaland Multiverse, into Bookania, or as part of my Ankulen multiverse. They themselves are loosely connected, but those are my “big three” so to speak.
For a few rogue ideas … I do have my HaV Academy Trilogy, which is a Superhero Boarding School Dystopia. I plan to attempt traditional publication with this one.
-G. Paige
8 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR-Author Interview: Water Princess, Fire Prince (The Rizkaland Legends: Book 1) by Kendra E. Ardnek

  1. Darn it, now I’m terribly curious about Nerissa, whoever she is.
    Rizkaland is definitely better than Riscaland. I do like Arcaland, though I can see why it had to be changed.
    Great interview!

    Like

  2. Rickshaws are nice. But Rishcaland just reminds me of Rishda Tarkaan in The Last Battle. Not the right association there… 🙂

    And that’s where Kathlene gets her name spelling from. I wondered, since I’ve never heard Kath as a nickname before, and also Kathleen is the more common spelling. 🙂 And, for the record, Kath is one of my favorite characters from WPFP.

    Like

    • Kath as her nickname was Kath’s decision, she and Rich sat me down and informed me that they were one-syllable people, thankyouverymuch. That’s why they called Clara “Clair.” Rhoda is Rhodes, btw. But my mom couldn’t remember the official spelling when she named my sister, so it’s Kathlene.

      Like

      • Haha, I love the Amber question. You do look like her, and I guess the whole writing thing comes in handy with the power problem. 😛

        That’s awesome that your mom couldn’t remember the official spelling. I’m totally going to accidentally do that when my kids are born.

        Like

Comments are closed.