Book Review: The Sword (Chiveis Trilogy: Book 1)

image

Rating: 3/5 stars.

I have mixed feelings about The Sword. It was a very intriguing and thought provoking book. It was good in one sense and…not necessarily “bad” but…I don’t know how to explain it.

It is around four centuries later from our time. Most of the people were killed by a virus and our world was destroyed by a nuclear war. Now the people have gone to living like those in the Middle Ages. One such kingdom, the Chiveis kingdom, thrives in peace. Protected from outsiders by mountains, the people worship their own gods and are lost to Christianity. Then a captain named Teofil and a farmer’s daughter named Anastasia find a Bible. From there everything changes for them and those close to them. But will higher authorities accept this new “religion” or cast it out and anyone who follows it?

What I liked about this book was that it was in the future but was totally medieval too. It was different from other futuristic books I’ve read. I also loved how it showed how some people found Christianity again. That was really neat.

I feel like the book focused too much time on the pagan religion the Chiveisi. Some things were mentioned, some things went into more detail. It was the culture around Teofil and Anastasia, and most people accepted it as “good”. The ceremonies and festivals were, for the most part, disgusting and revolting. Some situations almost led to inappropriate things (like adultery), but thankfully didn’t get that far. It just felt like too much. But I think maybe the author was trying to show how dark evil is to show how much lighter good is, so that makes me feel better about the book.

Then there were times when characters got into dangerous situations and then got out of the predicament too conveniently, and it happened more than once. That got to me after a bit. It seemed too easy for the two main characters at a lot of times.

So to end, I’ll say this book was good and I did like it. But I think it went a bit over the top on the details of the Chiveisi religion and mentioned, a few times, stuff that is inappropriate that I think that would have been better left unsaid. I’d recommend this to Christians who are prepared to face the cultural things that are mentioned in this book and who love an adventurous read. It is definitely geared more for adults and older teens.

-G. Paige

