Book Review: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass: Book 1)

imageI decided to take a leap of faith with this book and try it out. I really did enjoy it. It was quite good, but had a few questionable things.

Adarlan’s greatest assassin, Celaena Sardothien, has spent a year in the salt mines of Endovier for crimes she has committed, when the Crown Prince offers her freedom on one condition: she must compete as his champion in a competition that the winner will work as the King’s Champion. If she wins, she’ll work for the King of Adarlan for four years then she’ll be free. Her opponents will be thieves, assassins, and murderers from across the land. She trains with the Captain of the Guard, Choal Westfall to get back in shape. Then Prince Dorian starts to find interest in her. But soon a competitor is murdered and more murders follow. Will she be next???

I had a lot of apprehension in starting this book. I was worried that there might be inappropriate love scenes or something like that. There were one or two kissing scenes that was a just a touch too much. I also had a love/hate relationship with Prince Dorian. Mainly I disliked him because of the stuff people said about him being with other women. There was one other thing mentioned that made me very uncomfortable. Last of all, what bothered me just a bit was that the book was very dark. It had not a ton, but some, to do with magic and spirits and such. I have a feeling it will get more into that in later books. So people who use caution with those types of things, might not want to read this.

Apart from that, the book was very good. It was very fast paced and had a lot of action. I will warn you that there were a couple grotesque descriptions about some murders. But being full of mystery and intrigue, the book certainly captivated me. It was great in that sense.

On the whole, I probably will decide not to read the other books. It wasn’t terrible, so you might read it and enjoy it a lot. I just don’t think I will.

-G. Paige

