Book Review: Divergent (Divergent Series: Book 1)

imageRating: 3/5 stars.

I watched the movie Divergent about a year ago. After recently watching Insurgent, I finally decided to try out the books. Now I can totally see why my mom didn’t want me to read these books until I was older (like I am now).

Beatrice Prior world is what used to be called Chicago. Her society is divided into five factions: Abnegation (those who value selflessness), Erudite (the intelligent), Dauntless (courage is what they value), Candor (they value honesty), and Amity (those who value peace above all else). Beatrice lives in Abnegation. Now sixteen, on the next Choosing Ceremony she will choose which faction she will stay in for the rest of her life. Will she transfer to a new faction? It would change her life forever. But she also has a secret, a secret that could get her killed: what makes her different is what makes her dangerous.

I really liked the world building in this book. It was such an interesting society with all the factions and such. Most of the characters were great. I love Four. He was pretty awesome, though a bit of a harder character than how he was portrayed in the movie. This book had plenty of action and mystery. It did get quite violent and there was a suicide, so this definitely isn’t for kids.

I still have this nagging feeling that there was something about Divergent that I didn’t like. I think it was a problem with Beatrice, the main character. I just couldn’t connect with her as well as I would’ve liked. She seemed so heartless and cruel at times (she admitted it herself in the book). That, I think, was the main downfall of the book, for me. Also, the two love scenes (well, it is kind of only one; the other started to get inappropriate then stopped pretty quickly) in the book that went a bit out of control, was a bit disappointing too. I mean, why do they have to add stuff like that???

Those who read this need to be older teens or adults. You got to love dystopian to like this book and I would recommend skimming over a scene or two.

-G. Paige

