Book Review: Half a King (Shattered Sea: Book 1)

image

Rating: 4/5 stars.

It took a bit of a push to start this book, but I ended up really enjoying it. Half A King was such a unique and interesting story.

Prince Yarvi, second son of King Uthrik of Gettland, is forced to bear the crown, a crown he never wanted. Born with a crippled hand, he is despised by his people. He swears an oath to avenge the death of his father and brother even though he may be half a man. But then he is betrayed and loses it all. Now he must persevere through pain and hardship if he is to survive and reclaim his throne. He and a band of outcasts may be more help than he knows, but will this path he has set himself on end in tragedy just as it had begun? Can he, will he, reclaim his thrown?

This was a very different tale from other things I have read. I really liked it. Yarvi was a interesting character. It took me a bit to warm up to him and start to like him. There was plenty of excitement and adventure to keep me on the edge of my seat after the first few chapters. It was a neat story, while I felt it had a stark reality feel to it.

It was a different land and and culture that was interesting but felt very pagan at times. I wasn’t bothered by it, but there was a talk of talk and thought put to Yarvi’s gods and what they stood for. Yarvi prayed to them   a lot. There also was some language a good lot of violence describe very blatantly and, can I say, darkly.

In the long run, I really really enjoyed this book. It had excitement, danger, and shocking revelations and betrayals; everything that kept me entertained. I’d recommend this to those who love fantasy and fiction, to people who want something unique that they won’t soon forget.

-G. Paige

