Book Review: Creighton Hill (Time Captives: Book 1)

25183327

Rating: 4/5 stars.

I so enjoyed this book. This was very well done. I am excited to read more by Morgan Elizabeth Huneke!

This is the beginning of a trilogy about Emily, Allan, Jill, and Joey Hubbard. They grew up listening to their grandfather’s tales of how every twenty years a twelve year old Hubbard disappeared. When their grandpa dies their parents decide to move to Creighton Hill. Allan, Jill, Joey, and their little sister Anna want to learn more about the mysterious disappearances. Emily thinks its hogwash. But none of them really believe until they start seeing strange writing saying queer things on secret doors. They need to find out what happened to their ancestors and help them, if they can.

This was a great book. I mean, great. It also ended fantastically. Why, oh why, did it have to end that way? It has a definitive Narnian flair that I really enjoyed. I don’t read too many books about siblings, and this certainly had that aspect to it. This was such a refreshing read. The storyline and plot were great. I can’t wait to see where this story ends up. I loved how Christianity was added subtly but didn’t sound preachy. It seemed so natural in this book.

I loved the characters (I think George was my favorite). They all had a different, unique personality. Then the elves, the kalicans, the mermen, and all the other  nonhuman species and creatures were just awesome. It has a really great start to a fun new world. I am excited to read more.

This book is absolutely geared more toward kids, but all can read and enjoy this book just the same. I recommend this to anyone who reads any sort of fiction, whether it be fantasy or science fiction, dystopian or romance. This is more of a fantasy book, but you’ll love it.

-G. Paige

