BLOG TOUR-Author Interview: Deny (The Blades of Acktar: Book 2)

image

Hey everyone!!! Today is the start of a blog tour for Deny, the second book in The Blades of Acktar. To see my review on the first book, Dare, click here. It was absolutely incredible. Today, I am doing an author interview with Tricia Mingerink. Next week I will post a review on the book. So be on the look out. Enjoy!

image

Book Description:

All lies have consequences.

Promoted to the top rank among King Respen’s assassins, First Blade Leith Torren hides his involvement with the Resistance. How many lies will it take to protect his secret?

Renna Faythe has done nothing but survive for the past four years, but now Leith’s courage inspires her to try to be something more. If only she could figure out what that duty might be.

When the unthinkable happens, faith waivers. Friendships tear. What else will they be forced to deny?

But this time, Leith faces his greatest fear.

He can’t save everyone.

Author Bio:

image Tricia Mingerink is a twenty-something, book-loving, horse-riding country girl. She lives in Michigan with her family and their pack of pets. When she isn’t writing, she can be found pursuing backwoods adventures across the country.

You can connect with her on FacebookPinterestGoodreadsTwitterInstagram, her blog.

 

 

 

Interview:

When did you first start to come up with ideas for The Blades of Acktar?

I first got the idea a little over a year ago. It sort of hit me all at once. I had this idea about a dark room with black-clothed assassins sitting around a table reporting to the king. I knew the main character was named Third Blade Leith Torren and he didn’t want to be there. The rest of the story came from there.

Are there any inspirations you had from books, movies, etc. that helped make The Blades of Acktar?

Even though Jaye L. Knight’s Ilyon Chronicles are very similar, I didn’t read them until after I’d written the first drafts of the first three books in The Blades of Acktar so any similarities are purely coincidental. But, they did give me motivation to push forward with revising and publishing The Blades of Acktar. Not only that, but Jaye’s publishing resources under her previous pen name Molly Evangeline pretty much taught me what I needed to know about formatting a paperback.

Are there any major changes that you made to Dare or Deny before publication? Why?

Are there any changes? I could write an entire book about the changes I made to these books during revision.

For Dare, Renna wasn’t actually in the original ending. Leith’s plan went all right. No tension whatsoever. So I changed it so their plan went all wrong. Also, the whole love story part of the book? That wasn’t in the first draft either.

Deny made the changes to Dare look superficial. I pretty much re-wrote the entire book. I started from scratch for the first 80 pages, rewrote most of the scenes with Martyn, rearranged the order of the chapters, and re-did the entire love story part several times. I think chapter 42 is the only chapter that remains mostly how it did in the first draft. Everything else is has changed that much.

Which character is most like you?

That’s a tough one. I think I put a little bit of myself into each character in some ways, yet none of them are really like me. Renna is my scaredy cat side, though she is even more introvert than I am. Leith is probably the most like me. We share the same fear of failure, though he is much braver than I am.

Have you written any other stories that haven’t been published?

Yes, a lot. I have manuscripts from several series (some finished, some not) that are stuffed away in drawers and filed away on my computer. Perhaps someday I’ll dust those storylines off.

Do you have any ideas/thoughts for books besides The Blades of Acktar?

Of course! I have ideas for everything from fairy tale retellings to steampunk to dystopian to historical fiction. I’m still brainstorming those ideas to see which one I decide to write once I finish Book 4 of The Blades of Acktar.

When did you really start to think about becoming an author? Is it what you were expecting?

I started drawing picture books when I was 2 years old before I even knew how to write. When I was 6, my parents took my family to Laura Ingalls Wilder’s home in Mansfield, MO, the place where she wrote The Little House books. When we took the tour of the house, I saw Laura’s desk and right then and there, I decided I was going to be a published author someday. It took 19 years from that day, but I got there.

It’s both the same and different than I thought it would be. It’s not the giddy excitement or absolute joy all the time. It’s a lot of hard work, and honestly, getting that second book out is way harder than the first. But, it feels right, like even when it is hard, it’s what God has called me to be.

What is your favorite part about being an author?

Readers, though they are the best and most humbling part of being an author. It is amazing to hear about people getting your book as a birthday present or dressing up as one of your characters for school, or starting a Pinterest board dedicated to your book. Yet, it’s also humbling. I sometimes feel very inadequate and I realize that in the end, when these books touch people’s hearts, it’s not my work, it’s God’s work and I need to give the glory to Him even when I’m tempted to bask in it for myself.

For more information on the blog tour and to see who’s posting on it, click here.

Giveaway!

image

To celebrate the release of Deny, Tricia is giving away a signed set of Dare and Deny!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I hoped that you guys enjoyed this! I enjoyed it! Really though, everyone needs to read these books! They’re fabulous!

-G. Paige

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR-Author Interview: Deny (The Blades of Acktar: Book 2)

Comments are closed.