Monthly High Points: November

fall-photo

Hey everyone! I’m sorry for not posting much this last month. I decided I would start a new series of posts on the high points of each month for me. Today’s post will be on what has been going on in November.

Writing!!!

Surprise! So I actually started writing a book this month for the first time! I would love to publish it in a year or so once I’ve finished it and fixed it all up. It needs a lot of work.

I don’t know how many of you know about this, but there is this program called National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short). I had heard so much about it in recent months and found out it was a contest to try to write 50,000 words for a novel in November! Crazy, right?!

Well, I decided I would try it next year once I had a novel planned out (I do like to plan ahead of time). Then on the evening of November 4th I saw everyone everyone talking about it. That got me excited. Right there I made the rash and late decision to sign up. I can’t believe what I did. I don’t like making late decisions. They’re stressful. But I’m so happy that I did.

I had an idea (if you can even call it that) for a start of a series. I had even wrote a little prologue for it a month or so earlier. But I started all over on November 5th. From there I wrote about 2,000 words a day. I didn’t have a plan or anything. I was just going with the flow. Just so you know, I do not do that usually.

On November 29th I finished 50,000 words! I can’t believe it (and the novel isn’t even finished)! So this is why I didn’t do much blogging. Anyways, I just want to congratulate some of my writing friends that completed 50,000 words too. Great job! Even those who didn’t complete the word count. At least you still tried.

So…AlyssaHope, and Katie Grace: congrats! You guys did an amazing job!

Reading…

I didn’t get to much reading this month, because of writing. But I did read:

  1. A Superhero Story (Wearing the Cape: Book 1), by Marion G. Harmon
  2. A Narrative of the Life of David Crockett, by David Crockett
  3. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, by Frederick Douglass
  4. Deny (The Blades of Acktar: Book 2), by Tricia Mingerink
  5. The Demon King (The Seven Realms Series: Book 1), by Cinda Williams Chima
  6. CinderEddy, by Kendra E. Ardnek

A Superhero Story: It was recommended to me and I quite enjoyed it, though there was just a bit too much romance. You can check out my review of it for more info.

A Narrative of the Life of David Crockett: I started in October, but didn’t finish it until November. It was a school reading, but still good. A bit weird.

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass: Was sad and a bit depressing (this was a school reading too). It was very informative and interesting into the life of a slave.

Deny: I loved it (you can definitely tell by my review)! I can not talk enough about how good it was.

The Demon King: It was really good, but the romance started to go a bit too far. I’ll be posting a review soon.

CinderEddy: It was a cute and short Cinderella retelling. I liked it.

Right now I’m currently reading:

  • The Sword of Shannara (The Shannara Trilogy: Book 1), by Terry Brooks
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe
  • Water Princess, Fire Prince (The Rizkaland Legends: Book 1), by Kendra E. Ardnek

The Sword of Shannara has the same kind of feel as The Lord of the Rings. It is really epic right now (and I’m only 238 pages in out of 726 pages).

Uncle Tom’s Cabin is a reread for school again. But I’m still enjoying it.

Water Princess, Fire Prince is a reread. This is the first book I beta read like months ago. I’m finally getting to reading the official version of it.

I hope to get to a lot more reading this month, since I won’t have to write as much.

Other Things…

I watched the whole season of the Netflix tv show Daredevil in about one week! It was really dark, which I kind of like (just a bit), but I think it got a bit too dark. Also, there was a lot of language. There was plenty of violence too, but that doesn’t bother me as much. Besides all of that, I really enjoyed it! It was really well done and the characters were well portrayed.

Well, that is it. What have you guys been up to this November? I’d love to hear from you!!!

-G. Paige

4 thoughts on “Monthly High Points: November

  1. Congrats on NaNo!! 🙂 I always work best at the last second of EVERYTHING, and never plan ANYTHING!! Haha. Guess we’re different there!

    And I WISH I could watch Daredevil!! I love all things Marvel, but I’m not allowed to watch it. 😦

    Like

    • That’s funny. Yeah, I usually like to plan, but lately I seem to do a lot of things last minute.

      I totally get that. I think my parents were almost not going to let me watch it, because it was rated MA (really, some of the mature rated shows, you wouldn’t watch if you were mature). But because it was mainly just violence and language, they let me. My mom and dad check out almost every movie or tv show that I watch on Plugged In to see if I’m allowed to watch it.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.