Book Review: The Sword of Shannara (The Shannara Trilogy: Book 1)

Rating: 5/5 stars.

I fell in love with this book from the start. It. was. epic. I mean, epic. I can’t wait to read more by this author!

In a land of Men, Elves, Dwarves, Gnomes, and Trolls, mankind, led by the Warlock Lord, revolted against the other races. This led to the First War of the Races and the rebellion was crushed. The Second War of the Races happened less than five hundred years ago. The Elves and Dwarves fought the Gnomes and Rock Trolls who were led by the Warlock Lord. King Jerle Shannara of the Elven people was given a special sword by a Druid to defeat the Warlock Lord. But in the final battle where the Elves and Dwarves fought the Trolls, the Druid and the Warlock Lord disappeared in battle. Now, a giant named Allanon, with strange powers, has come to the Shady Vale to reveal to the half elf Shea that the Warlock Lord is alive and planning to destroy the world. The one weapon that can defeat him is the Sword of Shannara, but only a true heir of Shannara can use it. The fate of the races rests on Shea, the last heir of Shannara.

This book was wonderful. The author really captures fantasy at its best. Terry Brooks really is a student of J.R.R. Tolkien’s. You can tell from how much he pulls from Tolkien’s works. It has quite the same epic fantasy feel to it as The Lord of the Rings. But, it was much easier to read and understand. Also, it was went along at a faster pace.

I loved all the characters of the company. The mysterious Allanon, the natural born leader Balinor, the Dwarf strategist Hendel, the Elven brothers’ Durin and Dayel, the reckless Menion, and, the always faithful brother to Shea, Flick. Every one of them was so special for different reasons. There were many other characters that I knew for only a short amount of time, but I felt like I knew everything about them. They were all so well developed.

The plot was amazing and fantastically thrilling. My nerves were on edge so many times throughout the book. A few times I stopped reading and yelled, “Yes! Yes! Yes!” while laughing. Even more so, I stopped to squeal and think, “I’m going to die if these characters don’t figure a way out of this situation.”. Then there were other times that I felt ready to cry.

Other than that, I will say that there was a good bit of magic and sorcery involved, though for the most part it was portrayed as an evil thing. This is not a Christian author. This book was great, I just don’t know how the rest of his books are going to be.

I recommend this to older teens and adults, especially all those Tolkien fans out there. It was a bit bloody, so I wouldn’t give this to younger kids. So come on and read it!

-G. Paige

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sword of Shannara (The Shannara Trilogy: Book 1)

Comments are closed.