Thanksgiving…and Joy

ahr2I know, Thanksgiving has come and passed, but I’m not talking about the holiday. I’m talking about the act of giving thanks, of being thankful. That is something that we can discuss all the time.

I have recently started reading One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. She talks about living a fuller life in Christ. I have really liked what she has had to say about it. An important role in that is thanksgiving.

The Greek word for “giving thanks” is eucharisteo. In that word, there are the parts of two other Greek words: charis and chara. Charis means grace, while chara means joy. Isn’t that neat?

But aren’t you here to talk about thanksgiving? Yes, I am and I believe that grace and joy play a part in that. Being thankful is hard. I fail at it, a lot. We all get so lost in our own troubles and worries and temptations that sometimes we lose sight of the bigger picture.

I’m not saying that any of our struggles are unimportant, because they are important. God lets us haves struggles so that we grow stronger in our faith and closer to Him. Whatever you’re going through, He will be with you. And we know from the Bible that He will not let us be tempted more than we can bear.

1 Corinthians 10:13

The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.

But in all of this, we can become quite ungrateful and not thankful. I know I do it‭ all the time.

So how do we become thankful? I think it would help if we took time to focus on Christ throughout each day, everyday. For Ann Voskamp, she started to write a list of one thousand things she was thankful for.

If we start to pay attention to the things around us that we can be thankful for, naming specific things, it would bring us to not take things for granted. I believe that we would get a small glimpse of how much we can be thankful for. There are big things like God, living another day, family, etc. Then there are the minuscule things like melted butter on hot bread, rain pattering against the roof.

When we become thankful, we become joyful.

Joy is dependent on thanksgiving. The more thankful you are, the more joyful you will be.

This is something very important that I learned from One Thousand Gifts. It is so true. How can we be joyful when we are ungrateful? We may be happy, but that isn’t joy. And it definitely doesn’t last like joy does. Happiness comes and goes and can’t be trusted. It comes from material things. But joy, on the other hand, is something that can last forever. It comes from God. Once we have it, it can’t be taken away.

As Christians, we already have that joy that comes from God. But it sometimes gets diminished in going of life. Sometimes we need more of it.

Jesus lived a life of thanksgiving. Even near death, he gave thanks. He even gave thanks for his death.

2 Corinthians 4:15

All of this is for your benefit. And as God’s grace reaches more and more people, there will be great thanksgiving, and God will receive more and more glory.

Because of God’s grace, we can live a life of thanksgiving too. We can learn to see things to be thankful for in any situation. It just takes a lot of practice.

But in the end, I’m sure that it will bring us so much joy.

-G. Paige

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving…and Joy

  1. It is really important to remember to be thankful! 😀 I often accidentally take things for granted but thankfulness = so great. *nods*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • Thankfulness is so important. I take stuff for granted a lot and sometimes I think I just need to pause what I’m doing and take a look at my life. So then I’ll realize how much I can be thankful for.

      Thank you for checking out my blog! I appreciate it a lot. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.