Monthly High Points: December

ahrWriting…

So…it is a bit sad to say, but I haven’t written one more word for that novel I started since November. Not. One. Single. Word. But hey, I’ve never written that much in my life. I needed a break.

I will strive to get to some writing this month, just at a slower pace. I really want to finish writing the novel so that I can go back and make some changes. I have a few ideas for some drastic changes. I mean, really drastic. Like I’m going to rewrite the story in a whole, new way! We’ll see how it goes.

Reading!!!

So I didn’t get to any writing (unless you count my schoolwork). But I got to a bunch of reading! So that was fabulous!!! Here are the books I read this month:

  1. Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
  2. The Sword of Shannara (The Shannara Trilogy: Book 1) by Terry Brooks
  3. Noble Imposter (The Cantral Chronicles: Book 2) by Amanda L. Davis
  4. Viral Execution (The Cantral Chronicles: Book 3) by Amanda L. Davis
  5. Co. Aytch by Samuel Rush Watkins
  6. Humorous Stories and Sketches by Mark Twain
  7. The Negotiator (The O’Malley Series: Book 1) by Dee Henderson
  8. Falling Kingdoms (A Falling Kingdoms Novel: Book 1) by Morgan Rhodes
  9. Water Princess, Fire Prince (The Rizkaland Legends: Book 1)
  10. Mark of the Thief (Mark of the Thief: Book 1) by Jennifer A. Nielsen
  11. Storm Siren (The Storm Siren Trilogy: Book 1) by Mary Weber
  12. A Dream Not Imagined by Shantelle Mary Hannu

 

Uncle Tom’s Cabin: Such a interesting and moving book. It was great to reread it.

The Sword of Shannara: Seriously. Just go read it. If you like The Lord of the Rings go read it now! If you like any sort of fantasy, read it! Click here for my review. It was amazing.

Noble Imposter: Good and very interesting. But I just wasn’t into it.

Viral Execution: Better than any of the others in this trilogy, but I still didn’t get into it sadly. I just don’t think that this trilogy was for me. But I think many people would love this!

Co. Aytch: This was an amazing true account of a Confederate soldier who served throughout the Civil War. I wouldn’t let kids read this for it was very bloody, but it was so good.

Humorous Stories and Sketches: This was quite funny, though I think there was some humor that I didn’t get. It also has some life lessons in it.

The Negotiator: Really cool adult mystery. I really enjoyed this. So much suspense and thrilling moments.

Falling Kingdoms: Not good in my opinion. But I still love that cover.

Water Princess, Fire Prince: So nice to reread this. Love it!

Mark of the Thief: Oh my goodness! Ancient Rome! Magic! Yes!!! *ahem* I really loved this! I need the next one!

Storm Siren: Another absolutely awesome book!!! It has a heart stopping cliffhanger too! *jaw drops* I. Did. Not. See. That. Coming.

A Dream Not Imagined: A sweet Cinderella retelling for all ages with quite a plot twist.

Many of these I have reviews for and as soon as I have a day available I will post it.

So I’m currently reading:

  • One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp
  • Ashburn (I.C.E. Agency Series: Book 1) by Julia Erickson

One Thousand Gifts: Truly a great book about living life to the fullest.

Ashburn: I actually already finished this, but that happened in January and this is a post for what I was doing in December. Anyways, it is a great secret-agent-on-a-mission book.

As you can see, I got a lot of books read. It was fantastic!

Other Things…

In the days before Christmas, I scrambled to get halfway through all my schoolwork. I started school in October because of moving an ordering school stuff (which takes awhile to come). So I was did work on the weekends if I found the time (outside of reading). And during the weekdays, some days I did double or triple the work. It was crazy, but I finished on the 23rd of December. Then took off the whole next week.

I went and saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens on the 17th and got all the Star Wars feels. I was so afraid that Star Wars would be ruined, but it was epic. I couldn’t stop thinking about the movie for awhile afterwards.

How was your Christmas??? I’d love to hear about it. Mine was great. I got many books (you can see that from the pictures). Also, I got a LEGO Doctor Who set. I haven’t built it yet, but it looks really wonderful. I’m a total Whovian, if you don’t already know.


Do you see those two books on top?! They’re each about 1,200 pages!!! I can’t wait to read them!


These are both hardbacks (which are the best, mind you), and I just had to show you the beautiful covers!!! Aren’t they pretty?

Well, I hope your Christmas was amazing! Have an awesome day!

Allons-y!

-G. Paige

 

7 thoughts on “Monthly High Points: December

  1. So. Jealous. I really want a LEGO Doctor Who set!! Like, really, really badly!!

    Oh, all the books!! And 1,200?! Me must read!!

    And lastly, I barely wrote any in Dec. as well!! Though I did delete quite a few of the most recent pages, and I rewrote a tiny bit. But, I’ve written 108 words in Jan.! Yay! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I can’t wait to build it. I’m a bit weird, but I love LEGO! I have a ton of sets (mostly Star Wars).

      I know, right?! Jaye L. Knight recommended them so I can’t wait to read them, but I kind of want to wait until I’m out of school.

      Nice! I need to get back to writing.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I LOVE LEGOs too! I have some LotR ones (including Shelob) and a couple MARVEL characters, and some city ones, but not as much as I would like. And, unfortunately my 3 brothers seem to get all the LEGOs…
        Hmm. I should definitely check out those books!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • That is awesome to find a girl that loves LEGO! I have Shelob too!!! Crazy coincidence, huh? I have one or two MARVEL sets. Oh, I totally get brothers getting all the LEGO. Though, I must say, my parents have been pretty good at getting me LEGO, but sometimes that varies.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Crazy!! 🙂
        And my MARVEL sets are mostly what I took from my one brother. 🙂
        When it was just me and said brother, we both got a decent bit. But when the older two got old enough to play with then… yeah.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Ohhh, awesome post ;D
    Those book covers are so beautiful *swoon* I love hardback xD

    Oh hey, Humorous Stories and Sketches by Mark Twain, I think that’s the book I’m reading now xP xD That’s awesome!!

    Y’all just made me really want some Lego’s, BTW!! Gee xD

    Like

Comments are closed.