Book Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles: Book 2)

imageRating: 4/5 stars.

Okay. This was way more creepy than I was expecting. It was great, but not as good as its predecessor.

In France, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. No one believes that it is unusual, but Scarlet knows it is. Wolfe, a street fighter, is hiding something. When she realizes that he may know about her grandmother’s whereabouts and somehow involved, she knows that she shouldn’t trust him. But they get thrust together as he may be her only link to ever finding her grandmother. Meanwhile, Cinder is breaking her way out of prison, with a bit of assistance. But if she does, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

This book was pretty great. It had a pretty interesting start and just got more and more intense as it went along. Close to the end, I was like is this even going to end well? Are all the characters going to make it? Woah… That was a close one. I feel like they barely made it out alive in that book. There was much more violence in this book than the last one. It kind of gave me the shivers at some points. And there was blood. A lot of blood. At least, towards the end.

There were a good amount of new characters. Wolfe and Thorne were my new favorites. Wolfe was so mysterious and serious. Thorne was like the total opposite. He was such a rebel and a flirt. I loved how he annoyed Cinder and his humor. Scarlet was good, but I didn’t like her as much as Cinder. And she fell in love with Wolfe too quickly. It almost got inappropriate. A day or two is really fast to fall in love, but it didn’t feel fast unless you actually thought about it.

I’ll recommend this too a bit older teens because of the creepy and disgusting violence, but it was fantastic. Such a perfect mix of dystopian and fairytales. It’s really unique.

-G. Paige

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles: Book 2)

  1. Scarlet is probably my least favorite of the series. Too much between Scarlet and Wolf, and too fast. Also the wolf soldiers are just creepy. It didn’t seem as bad later. Kai and Cinder are still my favorite couple of all the Lunar Chronicles ones. 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, that’s is what I thought. I love Cinder and Kai! They are awesome! I’m excited to be seeing Cress and Thorne though, a lot of people seem to like them a lot.

      Like

      • I like Cress pretty well, but I’m not a huge fan of Thorne. He’s more of a “bad boy” type, and he likes the ladies way too much. I like Jacin, though. He’s fairly honorable. But Kai is still my favorite.

        Like

Comments are closed.