Book Review: Red Queen (Red Queen: Book 1)

imageRating: 5/5 stars.

This was great. I loved it so much! I need the next one so badly. The story just can’t be left like that.

Mare Barrow’s world is split into two classes: those with Red blood and those with Silver blood. Reds are commoners and are treated almost as slaves by the Silvers who rule with tyranny over them. Silvers have ruled over them ever since they found that they have superhuman abilities, whereas Reds are normal. Mare is a Red who gets pushed before the king and all the nobles and finds that she has an incredible ability too. To hide that she’s a Red, he proclaims that she’s a lost princess of a dead Silver general and betroths her to one of his sons. While she’s forced to live a lie, she secretly helps a Red rebellion known only as the Scarlet Guard. Only one thing is true: anyone can betray anyone.

This book swept me up into it’s world from the first page. It was a beautiful world to read about. The difference between the Reds lifestyle and the Silvers lifestyle was stark and drastic. It was fantastic world building. I want to know more.

The characters were the best. I loved Mare with all her thieving history and how much she cared for her friends and family. It felt really real. All the men were fun and interesting too. It is hard for me to choose which one I liked best and which one I’d want Mare to be with, but the end of the book kind of made that decision for me. Kilorn was great. I loved his teasing and bickering. Cal was just amazing. He cared, but still put duty first over his feelings and emotions. It was frustrating, but I at times loved him for it. Maven was quiet, but smart and seemed to point his heart in the right direction. There are so many other interesting characters, but I won’t go into talking about everyone.

There was so much intensity in the plot. There was so many jaw dropping plot twists that just kept surprising me. Certainly, this book did not let me go until the end. Though it hurt at points (Oh, the betrayals and secrets!), it was fascinating. I need more! The bit of romance included was sweet, but tough.

I’ll recommend this to older teens who love a beautiful dystopian and fantasy mix. I’m sure you’ll won’t want to miss this!

-G. Paige 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Red Queen (Red Queen: Book 1)

Comments are closed.