Book Review: Thunder (Stone Braid Chronicles: Book 1)

7c1167b6e6c057934db12bbc22116706Rating: 3/5 stars.

I’m not sure of my thoughts on this one. I really loved the characters and the premise, but there were some writing inconsistencies with it that bothered me.

Selah Rishon Chavez is almost eighteen and hiding, waiting for a boat to crash ashore with a Lander. These Landers come from across the ocean, no one really knows where. They were sold for a great price, if they kept their markings on their foreheads. Everything falls apart after Selah’s brothers take the Lander she caught. The next morning she find the marking of a Lander on herself. Now she is one of the hunted. She must leave everything she knows behind and go after her brothers who took her Lander. Just maybe the Lander will have the answers to questions about herself.

So the plot was great. It was very intense and exciting. There was plenty of action and fighting scenes. I felt like I flew through this book in no time. It was very fast paced and rushed at a few points. There are still so many secrets to uncover. So much that I still don’t understand.

I liked the characters pretty well. Selah, Bodhi, Glade, Treva, and Cheon were some of my favorites. Selah was a strong character, but she had some very realistic fears that I think I would have if I was in her situation. Kind, protective, and sometimes funny fits Bodhi description. He became caring as time went on. Glade I didn’t see much of, but hopefully the next book will be filled with him. He wasn’t much of an open book. Treva was smart, very smart. I really liked her person. At times she felt like an undercover agent. Cheon seems very nice, I need to read more of him. Dr. Everling I liked at the beginning, but I’m definitely not sure of that now. There were many other characters, but I think these are some of the more prominent ones.

The problems I had with this was there wasn’t enough character development, except for Selah. One decision made by Selah I thought was very dumb and put there just to help the plot. It could have been done another way though. Another reason was a character felt just thrown in and very convenient for a certain predicament, though it ended up working out. The dialogue was at times really choppy. Sometimes I was thinking, “What? That person wasn’t given a very good explanation and now he seems to know all the ends and outs of the situation.” The worst thing was when a group of people were given a ride on a wagon from a kind man. All of the sudden the man is gone and it seems the people own the wagon. What happened? I don’t know.

The religion was interesting. I don’t think I really liked it. It didn’t feel very Christian like I think it was supposed to. God was called “the Presence”. I don’t really understand it now, but it seemed you could somehow lose “the Presence” for wrong deeds. Then there were these humans that were immortal. I’m assuming the later books will explain it more.

All things considered, this was a good book. I hope to read the next one soon and hopefully some of the writing issues will smooth out with the rest of the series.

I’m recommending this to anyone who would love to read an unique dystopian book. It was good and different.

-G. Paige

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Thunder (Stone Braid Chronicles: Book 1)

Comments are closed.