Book Review: Season of Fire (The Remnants: Book 2)

51sYS+l048LRating: 4/5 stars.

This was pretty good middle book for a trilogy. But there was just something that didn’t grab me as the first one did.

With her power of empathy now seemingly under control, the Remnants continue their mission: to free Kapriel. Andriana and Ronan have shown their love for each other and now must make some hard decisions. But things go array for them when Andriana gets captured by Keallach, Emperor of Pacifica, and his replaced Knight, Sethos. Andriana against all odds believes that Keallach can come back and follow the Maker’s plan. But at some point she might have to choose between escaping from Keallach or falling into Sethos’s trap with him.

The characters were great, again. I wanted more Neiro and it didn’t seem I was going to get that, but the end made up for it. I missed Ronan in this book, badly. Though quiet a few times it switched to Ronan’s point of view and that was awesome. The Remnants kind of faded to the background in this book. It focused mainly on Andriana and Keallach. Oh Keallach. He was one of the most hardest characters to decide on whether I like him or not, though that ending might have made up my mind. I love and hate him at the same time. Then I felt at times he was just a manipulated child.

The plot was intense, but I think it might have been lacking a little bit from something. I’m not sure. It started in the middle of an scene so it took awhile for me to get my bearings. Then it felt rushed at the beginning and at the end. The bad situations felt to easily gotten out of. It was exciting and intense.

Sometimes the romance almost got inappropriate, but it never went farther than intense kissing. It lightly mentioned in conversation a few times some subject matter that isn’t appropriate for younger people. It was a bit violent of course with some fighting scenes.

So I really loved this and I’m recommending it to older teens and up. It is a really good Christian dystopian trilogy and I can’t wait to see how it ends!

-G. Paige 

