Book Review: To Kill a Mockingbird 

715VLP6M-OLRating: 5/5 stars.

Okay. I’m a bit intimidated to review a classic, but I’ve realized: a book is still a book. I can just review it like any other book. So here it goes.

I was expecting to at least like this book. I don’t even think I knew what it was about until I started reading it, but I’ve heard the name of this book over and over. Well this book surprised me and now I absolutely love it.

This is the story of a few pivotal years of Scout’s life in a small Southern town in the 1930s with her father, Atticus Finch, and her brother, Jem. To Kill a Mockingbird conveys the story of her childhood, the crime that was committed, and how the trials to resolve it awoke the town to many things that had been ignored until now. This book shows the innocence of children, but the prejudices that everyone held. It imparts on how devastating racism is, while showing the consequences of it. It tells of the fight of a few against many. Essentially, this book discloses what life was really like in that age and foretells of the changes to come.

The characters brought this book to life. Scout a troublemaker and had quite a temper, but she had a good heart. She was funny and very real. Jem was the older protective brother who should’ve been the more responsible of the two siblings, but he seemed to come up with most of the crazy ideas that got them into trouble. He could be mean and moody at times, but he still cared. Dill was more of a troublemaker that Scout, I believe. Jem and he were so mischievous together. All those plans… Good grief! They’d probably give someone a heart attack. Then there’s wise Atticus Finch whom I would love to quote all the time. He was kind. The few times he put his foot down, you didn’t want to mess with him. There were some surprising things I learned about him and I still think there is so much more to know about him. He stood up for what he believed was right, even when it was hopeless.

This was an unforgettable book. There is a quality to this book (Or maybe originality would be the better word.) that isn’t in any other book I’ve read. I’m not sure what it is. Original? Real to life? Ingenious? I think that’s what made this book so popular. It showed the horrifying aspects of a “current issue” in our society. I don’t think that many people knew the reality of racism and prejudice. We are still dealing with it in different ways today.

It was filled with the richness of new life, but also with the sadness of death. I loved and hated the reality of it. The lies and truths; the hatred and joy. It was all there in full, especially focusing on the dire consequences of such things as racism and prejudice and the innocence of children. Racism and prejudice can really effect a person’s whole life.

I hope that everyone takes a chance to read this book. It is a piece of American history. This book is close to my heart and I hope that it will be the same way for you.

-G. Paige

2 thoughts on “Book Review: To Kill a Mockingbird 

Comments are closed.