Book Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle: Book 1)

81iFWnYVpTLRating: 4/5 stars.

My first thoughts on this was that this was not what I was expecting, but I don’t really know what I was expecting.

Every year Blue Sargent and her mother watch the dead walk past and for the first time Blue sees a boy. Blue has always been told that she will be the cause of her true love’s death, but when she sees the dead boy, she must find him. His name is Gansey and he is a rich student at Aglionby. He and his three friends are on a search for something amazing. Their Raven Boys, which means trouble. But Blue is drawn to these boys and their search. She never believed in true love, at least, until now.

I have to say that these characters were some of the most unique and well written characters that I have ever read. Oh my word, these characters are so gripping. I loved them all for different reasons. Blue was bold in a way. She stuck out as different purposely. Her style of clothes was so her. Once she set her sights on doing something, she followed through with it. The Raven Boys were so great. Gansey was a person you just liked right away. He had two sides. One was vulnerable and fearful and worried. The other excluded confidence and showed just how rich he was. Adam, oh I loved him. He worked so hard to be where he was. He was poor, but he was his own man. He was quiet, but not really shy. Ronan was gruff and angry (I don’t think I really knew a moment when he wasn’t in some way angry), but he had this surprising kind and protective side. Noah was quiet and shy. He was kind of in the background of the book for a bit more than halfway through then you find out something shocking. Woah…I wasn’t expecting it at all.

This was set in our own world, but it had some very fantasy and mystical elements. There was a lot of psychic stuff (well, it seems all of Blue’s family are psychics) like predictions and fortune telling and even a few rituals. There was a little bit of speaking with the dead (or more like ghosts) and much discussion on ley lines. So I advise caution for those who don’t like to to get into magic and the like.

It was such an exciting book. I loved every moment of it. There was always something new to learn and discover either about the characters or the “quest” the Raven Boys were on. There was also a fair share of intense and shock moments especially towards the end. Ther was some violence and it was a bit bloody, but I didn’t think that it was really described. This was just one of those books that held your attention even if it wasn’t an exciting moment.

I loved the way this was written. There was a ton of times when the boys would say something and you knew there was another underlining meaning to it. Then you’d have to think for a moment to get it and sometimes you didn’t get it until later. It switched the points of view and I loved it and was frustrated by it when it cut off an exciting part.

The only thing that I didn’t like was the language. It was probably the most bad language I’ve read, though I haven’t read many books with bad language. It had f*** a few times along with d*** , s***, and a** among a few other choice words. There was a few mentions of really bad cursing, but they didn’t say the language. There was also a bad hand sign or two and the book also included use of God’s name in vain which quite disturbed me.

I will still definitely be reading the next one! All things considered, it was fantastic! This is great for people who read fantasy and contemporary. I’m recommending this for older teens and up.

-G. Paige 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle: Book 1)

Comments are closed.