To Christian Teens: The Importance of Friendship

Blogging ImageThis subject has been in my mind a lot the past week or so because my close friend Amanda and her family came to Puerto Rico for a visit. I hadn’t seen her in over half a year. That’s what happens when my dad’s job moves us around a lot. In May it will be two years since I met her. Let it suffice to say that we became very close friends very fast. Anyways, she came and it was one of the best weeks I’ve had since moving here. It felt as if Amanda had never left, or maybe more like I had never left her. But she and her family had to leave and go home just a couple of days ago. It was really hard seeing her leave, but I’m so glad she came.
imageThis is Amanda and me at Cuatro Sombras (which literally means “Four Ghosts”)!

This whole experience has helped me to again realize how important friends and friendships are. I think sometimes in midst of the busyness of life, we can forget the importance of such things. With all the time we spend on media, schoolwork, work, etc., it can be pushed to the side and forgotten. It must be even easier for people who have lived mostly in one place.

I want to discuss how and why friendship is important. I want to make sure that we all understand the importance of it. And that we remember it. How much more can we appreciate God if we begin to learn and understand the world he created for us?

So why are friends and the friendship it creates important? God has placed high importance on friendship throughout the Bible. We were created by Him to glorify Him and in so doing, have a close relationship with Him. He created us to have friendships, first with Him, but with each other too. The glimpse we see of God’s friendship with Adam and Eve is very close. David had a tight relationship with Jonathan. Jesus made many friendships in his disciples. Friendship was important to Him, so it should be important to us. Many times the apostles tell us to love one another and to encourage each other. Is that not friendship?

Hebrews 10:24-25

Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works. And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near.

God has given us the chance to have this close relationship with Him. His friendship is the only friendship that we will ever need, but that doesn’t mean we don’t get to (or can’t) have friendships with others. It is only that God must come first and foremost.

Friendships can be tough and a struggle, but the benefits out weigh the cons (Jesus was betrayed by his own disciple who had been with him for years). Friends can help us grow in our own individual faith. They can help pick us up when we stumble and fall. They are there with us.

So as we all go about our lives, let’s take the time to appreciate our friends and spend time with them. Let’s make sure they know that they’re appreciated. Let’s not take the time we have with them for granted. And let’s thank God for all of it (including the technology for keeping in touch with friends far away).

John 15:13

There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

‭And finally, let’s live up to this verse.

-G. Paige

2 thoughts on “To Christian Teens: The Importance of Friendship

  1. ❤ I love this.
    This week was one of the best weeks of my life. I had missed you SO incredibly much. Since you'd left, and everything had been going on with my family, I've felt so disconnected from any other friends. Friendship is so special, and such a blessing. I often forget how important it is. Your friendship to me has meant so much and I hope we stay connected until we can visit again.

    Like

    • Oh my goodness. You are too sweet. Yes, friendship is so special and a amazing blessing. I’ve missed you so much too. I’m missing you already since you left. It has been hard to make friends here. We’ll definitely stay connected. I hope we see each other soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.