Book Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle: Book 2)

dream-thievesRating: 4/5 stars.

I loved this book!  But I must say, I’m not sure if I got the plot (or the point) to this book. Maybe I’ll get this as I read the rest of the series.

Ronan has secrets. Some he keeps from others and some he keeps from himself. One secret is that he can bring things out of his dreams. What comes out is not always what he wanted, but there are others who want those things. Blue and the Raven Boys are on the search for the Welsh King Glendower. Gansey’s obsession with Glendower has infected all the boys and Blue. They feel that they are getting closer to finding Glendower. The secrets and the way to Glendower are now coming out of the dark. The only thing that’s certain is that this will bring change.

Oh man, I just have fallen in love with these characters. They are each so different and so special in their own uncommon way. Blue just defies the world with her style of clothes and by just being herself. She is so torn in this one. Ah, I’m heartbroken for her. It was so sweet what Noah did with Blue, but I don’t think it was the most appropriate thing, but it was done out of kindness and curiosity. Adam’s changed and I don’t even think I know the half of it. Those choices that Adam made…I think they are starting to have an impact. Gansey you’re trying to keep the gang together, but sometimes you just have no clue. Other times, oh my goodness you’re the best person ever! Then there’s Ronan which was who the book mainly focused on. Learning about his past and his gift was so intriguing.

I love how this is written. I love the way things are said and not said but understood all the same. It is just so neat. The character development is perfect. These characters might just be the death of me.

Because it did focus on Ronan, there was more language than the last book. F*** and s*** were probably the ones most used. There was a bad hand gesture thrown in about two times. The use of God’s name in vain was there. Ronan drinks until he’s like drunk while trying to accomplish something important. One person I think was asking another if he was gay without really saying the word gay for a moment. There were a few kisses shared (not gay kisses). One time it was said that two people (not married and not central characters) were laying in bed together before a phone call and then it moved on from there.

This one didn’t have much psychic stuff in this book, but there was plenty of intrigue and action. It had a few really intense and crazy moments (What just happened to the normal world?). There were these creepy night horrors (scary monsters pretty much) and just a few fight scenes that I could tell were bloody, but it didn’t go into detail.

Even with its faults, I just loved this. I’m recommending this series to older teens. It’s such a unique read that you won’t find anywhere else.

-G. Paige

