Kindness Can Change Lives

Kindness

So I updated my blog! What do you guys think of it? Do you like it? Do you love it? Please share your thoughts. I love hearing from ya’ll!

Kindness: something people who don’t believe in Christianity but have good morals try to exhibit and something Christians do (or, at least know they should) exhibit.

We’re told by our parents over and over to “Be kind to _____.” or just “Be kind.” and maybe you find yourself using the same words to your siblings (if you have any). I know I do. But saying something is a whole lot easier than actually following through with something especially concerning kindness.

Because kindness is something that can shown every moment of every day. Every thought, every word, and every action can show kindness or something quite distasteful. Unlike many other fruits of the spirit which you have the chance to exhibit only at certain times. Like having self-control only when there is something to get angry about. Or having patience only when there is something to be impatient about.

Kindness is something that can be shown all the time. There is always the availability to be kind. And that makes it oh so much harder.

I have so much trouble with this. I get in terrible moods and snap at people. I whine and complain. I get grumpy and grouchy and then don’t feel like doing anything helpful. Or better yet, I do something helpful but I do it with such a bad attitude that I’m not helpful at all.

And it happens all the time.

I also find that, for me, it is much easier to be kind to friends, than to my siblings.

Proverbs 3:3

Never let loyalty and kindness leave you!
Tie them around your neck as a reminder.
Write them deep within your heart.

But being kind is so so important. In many ways, kindness is the first step to being loving and caring. Being kind can help us have better self-control, better patience.

More importantly, it is one of the most defining reasons why Christians are different from other people.

People who aren’t Christians can be kind. They can be loving. But they wouldn’t go to the extremes that Christians do. To them, what would really be the point of loving your enemies or being kind to those who hurt you? It’s just extra trouble. But we go through that trouble. And that is incomprehensible thing to many people. Why would we risk our lives for such a pointless cause?

But to us, it’s not pointless. We’re following the example set by Christ over two thousand years ago. We face persecution, even death, out of the love we have for Christ who set us free from sin. And it’s this strange concept that people who don’t know Christ don’t understand. It’s this concept that brings many people to Christ.

So we shouldn’t just be kind because we’re told to by are parents or because it’s right and good. Though those are good reasons, that’s not the main reason we should do it for.

We should be kind out of the love Christ gave to us.

And for many people your kindness may be their only example they ever get of Christ’s love. It may be the key to bringing people to Christ. As it’s said: one act of kindness may save a life, for eternity.

-G. Paige

6 thoughts on “Kindness Can Change Lives

  1. You are SO right about this! Kindness is oh so very important, and it’s available for use every second of our breathing lives.
    Heh… Heh… I struggle with being kind to one of my brothers. I guess I’d say I’m… jealous of him. He gets all of my moms attention (he’s the youngest), gets let off the hook for things I’d be punished for, and isn’t as disciplined as I was when I was his age. And it’s really hard for me to talk to him without him getting mad or whinny. And I’m only mean to him because I don’t want him to turn out a spoiled rotten brat. But recently I’ve decided to pray about it. Because, I know, God can help me through it. He can clear these grudging thoughts from my mind and give me a KINDNESS towards my brother.
    Thanks for the reminder!

    (PS. I love your new design! It’s very pretty :D)

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! I too have so much trouble with being kind to my siblings. I get so mad and upset when they get to do stuff at a younger age, when I had to wait until I was older. Or when they don’t get punished as much as I did at their age too! I totally understand.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Love it, Gabs! Great post! Kindness is hard. I’ve actually been thinking about it a lot, recently. But I have noticed that the more we love others, the more joy we’ll have as people. 😉

    Love your new design! It’s adorable!

    Like

    • Thank you, Amanda! That’s kind of funny that you’ve been thinking about it lately. What a coincidence, huh? That’s so true, the more we love, the more joy we have. What a great way to put it!

      THANKS! I hope to stay with this theme for awhile.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! Very true words. ^ ^ I’m new to your blog. Nice to find you!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

Comments are closed.