When We Don’t Know God’s Will For Us

When We Don't KnowAt some point in our Christian lives, we are all told to follow God’s will for our life. To be what He has created us to be.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek his will in all you do,
and he will show you which path to take.

But what about when we don’t know God’s will for our lives?

What about the times when we don’t know our purpose?

We were created to glorify God, but how are we to spend our lives glorifying Him? There are many different ways to go about it.

This has been on my mind a lot lately. I’m trying to finish high school (I only got two more years left! *freaks out*), but I’m also trying to get started with some early college classes this coming school year. To do that, I have to start to make a plan for what I’m studying and working towards to be. And, to tell you the truth, I’m really not sure. I got plenty (too many) ideas, but I’ve made no decisive decisions.

So questions like “What am I going to do with my life?”, “What is God’s plan for me?”, and “What is my purpose?” have gone through my mind over and over.

I know the Bible has given instructions to us on how to live. It teaches us to love our enemies and to live like each day is our last. It has even given us a task to fulfill during our lifetimes.

Matthew 28:18-20

Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

But the Bible doesn’t tell me what type of career I’m supposed to have. Or how I’m to go about my life. Or what is the best way I’m to glorify Him.

But the Bible does tell me how I can get the answers that I seek.

Philippians 4:6-7

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

He tells us to pray. To pray and to trust in Him.

Romans 12:12

Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.

God tells us to be patient. To wait. And waiting is one of the hardest things to do, I know.

Of course, I don’t have all the answers for you or for myself. But we have to trust that God does have a plan, a purpose, for our lives. Isn’t that what our faith is Christ is based on? Trust? Belief in the unseen?

All you must do, all you can do, is keep praying and wait for the answers God is sure to give you.

Never stop praying.

-G. Paige

 

6 thoughts on “When We Don’t Know God’s Will For Us

  1. Good thoughts and a good way, Gabriela. Be aware too that God often guides through circumstances, good advice and the desires/abilities He has placed within us. This all requires wisdom and trust, like you say.

    Like

Comments are closed.