Book Review: The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy: Book 1)

image

Rating: 4/5 stars.

I read this for the first time over a year ago. Recently I decided to do a random reread. It was just as good as the first time, if not better. This time though I will continue with the series.

Will West has lived his whole life pretending to be normal, getting average grades, and moving about every fifteen months. His parents have never given him any real explanation, but he trusts them. Then he makes a mistake and scores extraordinary high on a nationwide exam. Now people want him to go to an exclusive prep school and he’s followed by black sedans. Then when something strange happens to his mom, he runs. His skills are put to the test and he realizes the rules that his parents taught him to live by may just save his life.

The characters were really good. Will had unknowingly been prepared for this (Whatever “this” is.). He is really smart and quiet, but not shy. He never let’s down his guard. Sine he’s been taught to not trust anyone, he hides his true self from everyone. Ajay is funny (usually when he isn’t meaning to be). He’s Southern with the accent that goes along with it (which I love). Of all of them, he probably gets scared the easiest. He has some great skills and is like a genius with technology. Nick is a gymnast. He’s hilarious and is rarely ever serious, but fiercely loyal to his friends. He’s not so very smart, but he knows his sports. Elise is like an Eygptian queen, literally. When she looks at you, it feels like she is reading your thoughts. She is a beautiful piano player and singer. Brooke is the parent over them all. She’s cautious, but brave. She’s kind and caring.

This book was exciting from the start. Even when reading it a second time I flew through it.  It was very fast paced. The running, the car chases, and then the new school was all intense. There was so many questions and intrigue. Especially concerning Will himself, his abilities were really neat. The monsters and who knows what else that were after Will were weird and ugly, but interesting. I need more answers. Everything must be figured out soon! The ending was intense and I was on the edge of my seat. That kidnapping! Those fighting scenes! They were great.

There was a kiss or two, but nothing major. There was language, not a lot, but not a little either. Words like d***, d***, b****** were common. F*** was in the book once or twice, but only the letter “f” was shown. God’s name was used in vain quite a few times.

Overall, this was a good book. I’m excited to see how this turns out. I recommend this to a little older teens (or just more mature teens) for some of the language, but was very neat.

-G. Paige 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy: Book 1)

  1. Hm. Okay. Thanks, Gabriela! I was considering reading this book, but now I think I’ll wait a few years. I don’t enjoy reading cursing or God’s name being taken in vain. And I still have several other books I need to read (Winter!!)

    Like

    • Yeah, me neither. And I read the rest of the trilogy and it just wasn’t as good as the first one. The plot just wasn’t as interesting (Those reviews will be coming soon.).

      Winter is definitely much more satisfying. I LOVED it so much! You’ll have to tell me what you think once you read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice book review!

    I must say, before I saw the cover, I read the post title and thought it said ‘book preview.’ I got all excited ’cause I thought you were sharing a preview/sneak-peak into what /your own/ book is about, and that just really excited me. xD (and I /would/ love to know more. just sayin’. 🙂 )

    Like

    • Thanks!

      Ha, ha, ha!!! That’s funny, Emily. I’m kind of scared to share snippets of my book. But I do want to at some point. So maybe some day soon?

      Like

Comments are closed.