Book Review: The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive: Book 1)

the-way-of-kings-by-brandon-sanderson

Rating: 5/5 stars.

Uhhh… I am just so shocked, so amazed. Even after waiting almost a week to write this review, I still haven’t gotten over it. It was magnificent. And that doesn’t even begin to describe how great this book really was.

The true Desolation is coming. The world of Roshar is not ready to face it. The Heralds have abandoned their duties and the Knights Radiant have turned against them. Szeth, an assassin, is bound to do what his master says, even if it brings ruin to the world. Kaladin, once a respected darkeyes, now is the worst kind of slave and has no hope. Everyone he has tried to protect has died. Shallan is a girl on a mission to save her family, even if it means stealing something priceless from someone very important. Dalinar was once revered and honored, now people think he’s going insane. Is he? He can’t even trust himself.

OH. MY. WORD. Let’s start with these amazing and complex characters. Szeth, I loved him. He isn’t focused on much in this book, but the parts he is in are very important to the plot. He was so interesting. The assassin who didn’t want to kill. But he still did it, as he wept with sorrow. Kaladin was my favorite. He was so broken and it hurt my heart. It was terrible to see him brought so slow. But hope was brought back to him by the most unsuspecting thing. He was a leader, but willing to do what the lowest man did. He was caring, so much so that it hurt him at times. He wasn’t one to let go for any reason. Willing to use all her skills, she will save her family. Shallan was smart and clever. She always had a witty quip ready for any remark. But there is something about her that will shock you. Dalinar is a hardened warrior. Called the Blackthorne, he is one of the most dangerous people alive. But his views are changing. Now he hardly ever longs for battle, but only for peace. He fears that something terrifying is coming. Something that will destroy them all if they are not united. Adolin, Dalinar’s son, fears for his father. He doesn’t know what is happening to him and he definitely doesn’t understand it. He wants to get him help, but how? Adolin is his father’s son.

The world building is one of the best (if not the best) I have ever seen. The sheer complexity and uniqueness that went into it was overwhelming. You could really tell how much time the author spent on it. But thankfully it wasn’t to complicated to read. I was swept into it from the start. There were tons of interesting creatures. There were lots of diverse plants. Their money system was totally different. The different countries had separate and distinct cultures. It was amazing epic fantasy.

The plot was intricate. It could feel slow to some, but I thought it perfect. The book itself was probably the biggest book I’ve ever read. The pace gave me plenty of time to connect and get to know the characters well. And it definitely wasn’t boring. It was very exciting. When it got to the last part of the book I was literally freaking out. I never believed that it could get so intense. Whoa. I mean, whoa. THEN THOSE LAST FEW PAGES!!! I about died. What just happened?! I’m so glad that I have the next one. I can’t wait to see where all this is leading to.

For content it was pretty clean. The word b****** was in it a few times, but that was it for language. Adolin courts a different girl every few days, but it is only mentioned. One character saw a woman kicked out of a man’s house because he wouldn’t pay her for her “services”. It doesn’t go into detail. There was a lot of violence and it was very bloody, but not overly descriptive.

I just loved this book. I have always heard that Brandon Sanderson’s books are really good, but I never truly knew until I read one. It totally did not disappoint. I am so ready to read more by this author. I’d recommend this to older teens. If you even slightly love fantasy, read it. If you don’t, read it anyways. It is too fantastic to pass up.

-G. Paige

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive: Book 1)

  1. After reading such a glowing review, I want to get my hands on this amazing-sounding book THIS MINUTE. Oh my goodness, I need it now. o.o *makes not to buy it on Kindle as soon as I can*

    Like

Comments are closed.