Book Review: Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive: Book 2)

Book ReviewRating: 5/5 stars.

I can’t. I just can’t. There are no words that could tell you how deeply I loved this book. It was just as good as the first book, and that is saying a lot.

Dalinar was betrayed by one that he’d placed his life in his hands. He has lost faith in the highprinces. They’re are all like greedy children fighting over petty things. It’s time to end this war. It’s time to unite Alethkar. Adolin has total faith in his father. He now understands the way his father see things. He’ll stand by his side even if it means death. Shallan has information. Information that could lead to the salvation of all of Roshar, if she can even get it to the people who will make the most use of it. And, if they’ll even believe her. Kaladin is now safe, he’s out of the terrible situation that he was in. He has a job to do: to protect Dalinar and his family. But it doesn’t even seem possible. And the Parshendi are planning something that may be the ruin of them all.

There was a lot of character development! I was so thrilled and happy and just a jumble of giddiness. I love these characters so much! Szeth the assassin with abilities that shouldn’t be his. The assassin who never wants to kill, but he has to anyways. I really like him because he’s so unique and so complex. There wasn’t as much of him as there was in the first book, at least, not until the end. There’s Kaladin, who will forever and ever be my favorite. He starting to come to terms with his abilities. But he doesn’t trust any lighteyes. Never again will he have his trust broken by one of them. If he’s going to live, to really live, he’s going to have to learn to trust some of them. But when someone from his past comes back into his life, someone he never thought he’d see again, someone he hates more than anyone else, he is filled with hatred. But will he let it consume him? Will he betray his superiors for revenge? Shallan has changed. She went through more development than Kaladin in this book. In the last book, she was more scared, more timid. Now she’s willing to take what she wants. She’s bold and full of self-confidence. She can speak up for herself. She is beginning to learn about her abilities. But she is not willing to come to terms with her past. She doesn’t want to remember. She keeps those memories closed off. But if she’s ever to grow, she’s going to have to open herself back to them. Dalinor, oh my poor, Dalinor. How he is ridiculed and mocked. Few believe him. There’s even fewer that he can actually trust, and that circle is only getting smaller. But he’s had enough of trying to be diplomatic. Now, he’s ready to take charge, by force, if necessary. It’s time to stop playing games. It’s time to get vengeance, real vengeance. But numbers have appeared on the wall. Numbers that foretell his death. The end draws slowly near. Adolin truly believes his father. He’s ready to stand by his side, no matter the cost. He’s given a task, one that is vital to Dalinor’s plan. If he keeps his head, it should work. But it’s dangerous. One mistake and everything could fall apart and then he’d be dead.

Okay, so enough about the characters, (though I will say that it’s one of my favorite parts about this series), let’s talk about the world building. I am once again blown away by how in-depth this world building. It is absolutely one of the best I have ever read about. There were major differences between our world and theirs. But there were also so many little details that were put in there that may seem insignificant, but when it was all put together, it was beautiful. It’s like how such small, little strokes with a paint brush come together to create something majestic. That was this for me. I just can’t get over it. The detail is so insane. How does the author even do it?

Then there is the plot. Wow. It was intense. The intensity just kept building up and up until that epic conclusion. Of course, there were quite a few other scenes before the ending that were intense too. At one point, I remember getting off the bed where I had been reading and just jumping and squealing and screaming all at the same time. I may have went a little crazy. But I couldn’t help it. The mental and emotional conflict was so heartbreaking and frustrating. The duals and battles almost killed me. There were moments that I just knew, just knew, that they weren’t going to end well. I mean, PEOPLE WERE DYING. I was freaking out quite a bit. Questions were answered, but there came about more questions that now need answering.

For content, it was quite clean. One bad word (b******) was used quite a few times, but there was no other language. And there was only a few kisses, nothing major. There was also a few sexual references, but nothing that really bothered me.

So, this was so spectacular. I must know more! Go read this book. If you’re any sort of fantasy fan, go read it. Now let me just go mourn over how long I have to wait for the next book.

-G. Paige

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive: Book 2)

Comments are closed.