Monthly High Points: August

SOUP & SALADMyLife

Well. That month flew by. How did so much time go by and I feel like I hardly did anything. Agh. It was not the best of months.

The last two weeks I was doing school and it did not start out well. I was spending too much time on my school. Calculus had review concepts that I’d never heard of in the first place. World Literature wanted me to read The Odyssey in a week, and put annotation through the whole thing. And everything else was actually going well. Thank goodness for that. But I think that I have now figured things out. So hopefully school will now be a bit easier.

Writing

I have failed in my writing this month. I got a couple thousand words. It seems that I only really write well when I am doing NaNoWriMo or Camp NaNoWriMo. I need to really start having a goal for writing everyday even if it is just a little bit.

Reading

I haven’t read many books this month. But…I read some extremely good ones.

  1. In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick
  2. Illuminate (The Illuminae Files_01) by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
  3. Forbidden (The Books of Mortals: Book 1) by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee
  4. Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive: Book 2) by Brandon Sanderson
  5. Edgewood (Edgewood Series: Book 1) by Karen McQuestion
  6. The Odyssey by Homer
  7. The Most Dangerous Game by Richard Connell

I also read the Bible book 1 John.

In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex: What a tragic story. Nothing went right and the ending wasn’t even very happy.

Illuminae: ASJDLKFJSLDJFLSDJFKL ACK!!! I can’t handle it! This was so unique, so different, and so amazing.

Forbidden: This was okay. It was good, but not great. I will be reading more of this.

Words of Radiance: *hyperventilates* *is dying* I am speechless. These books couldn’t get any better. What even. How does someone even write such a great book?

Edgewood: This was another okay book. I don’t think that I’m going to read the rest of the series.

The Odyssey: This was actually a reread for me, for school. I still enjoyed it, but annoting made it not as fun.

The Most Dangerous Game: This is a very cool short story. It was intense and had some really creepy and scary plot twists. I loved it!

I am currently reading:

  • One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp
  • The Iliad by Homer
  • Mornings on Horseback by David McCullough
  • The Wishsong of Shannara (The Shannara Trilogy: Book 3) by Terry Brooks

One Thousand Gifts: I NEED to read more of this. I keep putting it off.

The Iliad: I have never read something like this for pleasure reading so I’m reading it very slowly.

Mornings on Horseback: I never thought that a biography on Theodore Roosevelt could be so interesting. I almost cried at one point.

The Wishsong of Shannara: I am loving this!!! I love how it gives off such a classic feel, but it’s not boring or uninteresting. And let’s just say that Allanon makes the book.

Music

So Katie mentioned NF a long time ago. I would listen to the one song that she recommended (Oh Lord) every once in awhile, but I wasn’t into it. This month I got into it. I mean, really into it. I love it so much!!! Then I showed Sophia a few songs and now she’s into it so. Katie, I think that you started something. 😀

HAMILTON HAMILTON HAMILTON. It will never grow old.

I’d never heard of Relient K before, but someone on Twitter mentioned that they had a new album and I listened to a bit and love it!

Some days the only reason I got through school was because of music. I listened to SO many soundtracks. One that I listened on repeat like four times in one day was 300: Rise of an Empire. It is a really good soundtrack.

HappeningsHere

Book Review: Six of Crows (Six of Crows: Book 1)

This was a different kind of book. I enjoyed it, but I had a few content issues with it.

How do you know that you’re a Christian?

Feel insecure about whether you really are a Christian? Do you have doubts? Read what I say about it.

Monthly High Points: July

Here I talk about all the crazy stuff I did in July. LIKE WRITING 10,000 WORDS IN 1 DAY.

Book Review: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files_01)

I loved this book so much. It was written in the most unique way ever. And it’s science fiction!

Purposeful Pages Link-Up: August

A link-up that two bloggers started. I’m so happy to be able to participate.

Book Review: Forbidden (The Books of Mortals: Book 1)

This was okay. I still recommend people giving it a go though. I was in a kind of reading slump when I read it.

Are You Living With Joy?

Stressed out? Worn out? Tired? Worried? Find out how to live with joy even in the difficult times.

Everyone Needs to Rest

I was so surprised by how much positive feedback I got on this. I had a stressful first week on school so I wrote this.

Book Review: Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive: Book 2)

BEST BOOK. EEK! *screams/squeals/flails* IT WAS AMAZING. And I wrote the longest review that I have ever written before.

Heresies of the Past and What They Mean for the Present

More of a history lesson than anything else. I liked writing it though.

FavoritePosts

Sophia (a different Sophia), did a Twenty One Pilots book tag. I am totally going to participate.

Alyssa did an interview with Bryan Davis!!! I freaked out when I saw it.

Jazzy wrote such a funny post on homeschooling and a bunch of other random stuff. It was hilarious.

OtherThings

I don’t think that I have anything else to mention. Oh, I did watch the Unbroken movie. It didn’t do justice to the movie, but it was still really good.

That guy was a “bit” crazy. But whoever played him did really well on portraying his character.

So how was August for you? Have you started school?

-G. Paige

 

6 thoughts on “Monthly High Points: August

  1. I totally agree about not being able to write unless it’s NaNo time. I don’t think I’ve ever even attempted writing anything significant unless it’s November. *blushes*
    August was basically me holding onto the last dribblings of summer… I started dual credit classes on the 29th, and tomorrow basically the rest of my schoolwork is in swing. But I had my prologue and first chapter critiqued and that was ammmaazing. ^.^
    It look like I missed a lot of great posts over here! I need to go back and read them.
    @Jeniqua Writes.

    Like

    • YES, it is so frustrating how not motivated I am.

      Ooo… Dual credit classes. I’m hoping to do some of those once I do the SAT this October.

      Oh that’s cool! I haven’t had anything of mine critiqued. I’m kind of scared. *hides*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. EEEP, I AM SO GLAD YOU GOT INTO NF AS WELL. o.o *starts flailing and going crazy* What are your favorite songs from him? Omg, we need to discuss this. I can’t. He’s so amazing. xD

    Mwahaha, Illuminae… GEMINA COMES OUT SO SOON AND I’M NOT READY. I’ll need to reread Illuminae before then. 😀

    // katie grace
    a writer’s faith

    Like

    • ACK! YOU WANT TO ME TO PICK FAVORITE SONGS???!!!!! I’m not sure. I know I love “How Can You Leave Us” (*tears*) and “Oh Lord” and a bunch of others.

      I’M NOT READY EITHER. I should preorder it. I’ve actually never preordered something…

      Like

Comments are closed.