Book Review: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle: Book 4)

the-raven-kingRating: 3/5 stars.

I am really confused by my feelings for this book. In some ways it felt pretty fulfilling, in other ways I felt ripped off.

A demon has been set free. One that will stop at nothing. The Raven Boys and Blue must stop it, but they don’t know how. More importantly, they may have already been compromised by the demon. Some of them aren’t even sure if they can trust themselves. Ronan is plagued by nightmares that seem to only get worse. He will not lose those he loves from his old family or new family. Adam is worried about Cabeswater and confused by his feelings. Noah is not himself. He is dying. Gansey knows he’s going to die. He wants to make the most of the time he has. Blue loves Gansey. She’s not going to let him die.

One of the main focus points of this series is the characters. If you don’t like the characters, you probably won’t like the books. I love the characters, but I have to say that my feelings for two certain characters changed. Those were Ronan and Adam. It seemed that this book focused more on them than the other characters. Ronan is the tough one. Muscular with tattoos, he’s one that your instincts instantly tell you to stay away from. It seems like nothing can hurt him. Nothing can get through his hard exterior. But that’s all a facade. He’s really delicate. If he let’s you into his heart and you hurt him, he’s broken. Adam is learning to face his fears. He’s not as quiet as he once was. But in some ways he still doubts himself. Did he make a mistake in choosing to be the hands and eyes for Cabeswater? He still has some sort of feelings for Blue, but he starts to have feelings for Ronan. Ronan begins to have feelings for Adam too. That’s why I’ve gotten turned off from them. But moving on, Noah. Oh, poor Noah. He’s not in this book very much. But for the times he is, it is so horrible and so terrible. Then he unexpectedly plays in a major plot point that surprised me, to say the least. I feel bad for him. Gansey, the one who I had expected to be the focus of this book, is searching for Glendower. He wants to do something meaningful with his life before he dies and he knows that he doesn’t have much time. Finding Glendower is his life’s purpose, he will find him. Meanwhile, he’s in love with Blue, but nothing can ever come of it. Finally, we have Blue. The one who’s cursed for if she kisses her true love, he’ll die. Somehow, she has fallen in love with Gansey. But she will never kiss him. She will never bring about his death. Or will she?

I love this author’s writing style. This is definitely one of my favorite writing styles ever. I don’t even know how to describe it. In just a few words, the author conveys such a depth of meaning. Things go unsaid, but in not saying it, you get it in such a subtle, powerful way. I know, it sounds very confusing. You just need to read it to understand.

The plot was…interesting. There were many things that I thought were really well played out. It went along with the story. But there were a few things, well mainly one thing, that disappointed me. I was disappointed because there had been so much anticipation and agony over this throughout the series, but this book just cut it all off. I didn’t like it. I wanted something more. Also a new character was introduced and made out to be part of their group. I didn’t think that it fit. Then there were so many things missing. I missed the car rides together, the time spent at Monmouth Manufacturing, and the late night phone calls. But that was all gone. Furthermore, the ending felt a bit rushed. It was still a pretty good ending, but I wasn’t as invested as I had wanted to be.

There was language. But not as much as the other books, I think anyways. But the words that were used were pretty bad. F*** was used a good amount of times, among others. I would’ve liked this more if that had been it for content, but Adam and Ronan developed feelings for each other. So, they kissed. Twice. I was really disgusted, but at the same time I was surprised that it actually wasn’t descriptive as I was expecting. It was said pretty plainly and then there were a lot of metaphors for how it felt. So I was a little thankful for that. There is also a lot on demons and demonic possession of people.

So, I don’t think that I can confidently recommend this book to anyone. It was good, but still had some big content issues and the ending wasn’t as satisfying. But, if the content won’t bother you, give it a go. I love so many other things about this series.

-G. Paige

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle: Book 4)

  1. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAH!!! He’s always been my favorite!!! And that last page!! (There were tons of happy/sad feelings there.) ❤

    Ugh. Yes. Ronan and Adam. :/

    And, honestly, I never liked Blue and Gansey. I always wanted Gansey to die. *sighs*

    Like

Comments are closed.