Is All Sin Equal in God’s Eyes? (And God’s Amazing Grace.)

is-all-sin-equal-in-gods-eyes-and-gods-amazing-grace

Wow, it’s been about a month and a half since I’ve done one of these posts. Time really does fly by. I can’t believe that it has actually been so long. Just wow.

Anyways, this subject has been on my mind a lot lately. The main reason is probably the fact that I was reading Dante’s Inferno for school. He describes his allegorical journey through Hell where every sin is given its own punishment.

So is all the different type of ways that we sin equal in God’s Eyes? For most of my life, I’ve always just answered that question “yes” and didn’t look any further into it.

Well, I’ve recently looked more into it.

I realized that my answer was right, but also partly wrong.

All sin is equal in God’s Eyes in the fact that all sin is an act of rebellion against God. Because no matter what sin you commit, no matter how “big” of a sin it is or how “small” of a sin it is, it is still an act of defiance against. That’s what sin is. It’s our way of rebelling against God.

James 2:10

For the person who keeps all of the laws except one is as guilty as a person who has broken all of God’s laws.

This clearly shows that all sin is equal to God, in that it is rebellion against Him.

But is does not at all mean that sin is equal in the fact that the consequences will be the same.

Luke 12:47-48

And a servant who knows what the master wants, but isn’t prepared and doesn’t carry out those instructions, will be severely punished. But someone who does not know, and then does something wrong, will be punished only lightly. When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.

The consequences will not be the same for, let’s say, murder, as they would be for, let’s say, punching someone. So in that way, it is certainly not equal.

This brought in a whole new light of understanding to my mind. I’d never really put much thought into this subject and I was surprised by what I learned.

Now, how will this all play out in Hell? I have no idea. I don’t that we’ll ever truly know. Not in this life anyways.

Either way, Jesus has died on the cross for us. His death, gives us life, salvation. He has saved us from all the sin that we have committed or will commit.

There is no limit to the depth of His Grace.

He will continue to save us from ourselves, over and over again. No what we do, His Grace is sufficient for us. It is enough.

When you sin, there will be consequences, but the consequences will help you grow. It will help you not to make the same mistake again. Another thing, though there are consequences, there will also be forgiveness, forgiveness from the one who loves you more than you could ever imagine.

-G. Paige

