Monthly High Points: January (Including Finishing a Novel!)

monthlyhighpointsjanuaryMyLife

Wow.

Has a month really already passed?

I feel like the New Year was so long ago, but at the same time it seems it only just happened.

I am still feeling pumped for accomplishing a lot this year hopefully.

School fully started a little over two weeks ago, but I never really took off all my school so…it’s just school. And it’s been a lot lately.

But I’m slowly trudging through it and trying not to feel tempted to curl up into a ball and cry sometimes.

Oh, I did a brave thing this past months.

I posted some political tweets.

*gasps*

You didn’t see that coming, did you?

Anyways, it went over very well. I was kind of surprised and glad at the same time.

Writing

I’ve been really thinking that I want to do something writing related as a career. I don’t know what yet, but it has been on my mind a lot lately. I’ve just been loving writing a lot, like way more than usual.

I wrote 1,500 words for my novel everyday of this month. It was amazing. I hope to keep up the dedication.

Anyways…

I FINISHED WRITING MY THIRD NOVEL (the one that I started this past NaNoWriMo 2016).

It is also 126,468 words long. I don’t even know how that happened.

I just feel like this gif fits. Don’t question my reasoning.

So here’s a big snippet that I shared on Twitter.

Reading

I have read some really amazing books lately, but not as many as I would like.

1.) The Masque of Red Death by Edgar Allan Poe

2.) The Cask of Amontillado by Edgar Allan Poe

3.) The Imp of The Perverse by Edgar Allan Poe

4.) The Passionate Pilgrim by William Shakespeare

5.) The Phoenix and the Turtle by William Shakespeare

6.) Les Feuilles D’Automne by Victor Hugo

7.) Morning Star (The Red Rising Trilogy: Book 3) by Pierce Brown

AAAHHHHH!!! I don’t even know what to say about this. It was amazing, intense, heartbreaking, mind-blowing, and so beautiful. These characters will have my heart forever.

8.) Because I Could Not Stop for Death by Emily Dickinson

9.) “Hope” is the Thing with Feather by Emily Dickinson

10.) Steelheart (Reckoners: Book 1) by Brandon Sanderson

THIS WAS AWESOME. I love it. It’s hilarious and a seriously great read.

11.) Firefight (Reckoners: Book 2) by Brandon Sanderson

WHOA. Plot twist. This was great and fun and exciting all at the same time.

12.) To My Mother by Edgar Allan Poe

13.) Hymn by Edgar Allan Poe

14.) To Helen by Edgar Allan Poe

So…I guess that it does look like I read a lot, but almost all of them were short stories and poems. I only read like three actual books, which is kind of sad in my opinion.

I’m currently reading:

  • One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp
  • God and Ronald Reagan: A Spiritual Life by Paul Kengor
  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  • Calamity (Reckoners: Book 3) by Brandon Sanderson

Les Misérables: This is beautiful. And I don’t know if I have shipped two characters as much as I have in this book.

Calamity: This is so good, but I hate how I haven’t had much time to read it. GAH!

Music

I’ve just been very into Fleurie and Ruelle. They both have beautiful, unique voices. GO LISTEN TO THEM NOW.

HappeningsHere

Finding Fulfillment

Struggling to find fulfillment? This is for you.

Book Review: Gemina (The Illuminae Files_02)

I LOVE THIS BOOK. WOW. IT BLEW MY MIND TWICE, AT LEAST. And I cried, which never happens. So yes, prepare for feels.

Learning to Forgive (No Matter What)

I have trouble forgiving people. Do you?

Book Review: Destroy (The Blades of Acktar: Book 3.5)

This was a great short story to one of my favorite series.

What does it mean to truly love God?

Love is so much more than an emotion or an feeling.

Book Review: Morning Star (The Red Rising Trilogy: Book 3)

OH MY WORD. THIS, THIS WAS…I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO CALL THIS. It was amazing. And I about had a heart attack.

Loving Those Who Do Not Love You

No matter how hard it is, we must show God’s love to others.

FavoritePosts

My friend, Sophia, talks about enjoying life and a bunch of other fun and relatable things. I miss you girl!

Nadine’s post about writing even when you hate your story was so encouraging.

OtherThings

So…I started watching this show called Taboo with my dad. I don’t really know what to say about it. It has some definite mature scenes, but I love the setting AND TOM HARDY PLAYS THE MAIN CHARACTER. So there’s that.

And I have to say that his outfit is amazing. I WANT IT.

-G. Paige

2 thoughts on “Monthly High Points: January (Including Finishing a Novel!)

Comments are closed.