Book Review: Steelheart (The Reckoners: Book 1)

bookreviewsteelheartRating: 5/5 stars.

Wow. This was so so so fun! I have heard so many good things about this trilogy and I must say that it didn’t disappoint. This was absolutely exciting!

David’s father was killed by an Epic known as Steelheart, but in that one event, he saw Steelheart bleed. The supposedly invincible Steelheart bled. And David wants to see him bleed again. But to do that, he’ll need the Reckoners help. They are the only group fighting back against the powerful Epics, but will they be willing to go up against Steelheart, one of the most power Epics in the country? Will they even believe him?

So, the characters. The characters were so unique and each had their own “voice”, if you get my meaning. David was the main character. He has a tragic past that has set him on the path that he’s on now. He’s smart, especially about the Epics (He is basically a nerd, but won’t admit to it.), but other times he is…not so smart and is quite hilarious. One of the best things about him is his knack for terrible, I mean terrible, metaphors (which are actually similes, by the way). Too me, he seems to act a little younger than he is, but that doesn’t bother me too much. Megan is really cool. She is very good with a gun and other weapons. She certainly knows how to handle herself. She doesn’t like to get close to people though, and she keeps to herself. Prof is really intriguing. He gives off this vibe that you don’t want to mess with him. He has a calm and in-control type of personality, but there is a fury beneath the surface. Every move he makes is one that he is fully supportive of. Tia is the smart one. She seems to hardly sleep as she commits herself to so much work. Prof and her have a relationship that goes deeper than a friendship. She is cautious, but will take necessary risks. She may not spend time in all the action, but she is just as important. Abraham has a secretive nature about him. He is just full of wisdom and so caring. It is him who knows all about weapons. He has this quiet strength that appears every so often. Cody is a sniper. He’s always telling stories that you can’t be sure if he is telling the truth or not because he is so serious about them. He makes nonstop jokes and doesn’t seem very smart about anything. But he can’t definitely shoot.

The world building is done pretty well. It isn’t amazing, but it is really good. I understood the world very well. It is really interesting that the ones with powers have become villains instead of heroes. It’s a nice twist. The powers are all really interesting and inventive. The whole city of Newcago (what used to be called Chicago) is really cool. The different levels of the city I found really intriguing.

So one of my only complaints is that the writing is not very good. I mean, it wasn’t bad or incorrect, it is just written in a style for middle schoolers. It’s easy, fun, and light, which was great after some of the harder books that I’ve been reading. But it is a little too simple. I would’ve liked more if it had been written like some of his books for adults.

The plot was a blast. It was nonstop fast-paced. There was so much action and it got really intense. Gah! There was a sneaking into places. There were some major plot twists as the end that surprised me. I had been expecting some plot twists, but I suspected wrong. SO I WAS VERY SURPRISED. The whole big battle at the end was so cool and epic. I could barely let the book from my sight until I had finished it.

There was some language, but it was made up language, so it didn’t feel like language. David also sometimes had some thoughts about a certain girl that wasn’t the most appropriate, but it wasn’t too bad.

This was a really good book! I fell in love with it immediately. It was so humorous and exciting. It blew me away at points. It left my gasping and reaching for more. I loved it.

-G. Paige

 

 

 

