What do you find your identity in?

whatdoyoufindyouridentityin.jpgThis year has started off pretty well, I must say. I’ve stuck to my goal to write everyday, except for a day or two that I purposely took off to refresh my brain. I’ve been journaling pretty regularly. I’ve been reading my Bible more often, which ends up being every couple of days (I need to do it everyday.). I’ve even found some time to read, though not as much as I would like (But I don’t think any amount of reading would ever satisfy me fully. The books just keep coming. Hahaha…).

But, unfortunately, some of this has led to a bad side effect for me. I’ve found myself relying more and more on my accomplishments. I find myself feeling good about myself only if I complete this and that, oh, and that.

I feel accomplished, fulfilled in the stuff that I do. It pushes me into a, albeit bad, sort of motivation. A motivation to do things…out of guilt. And while it is great to be motivated, it isn’t healthy to be motivated in that sort of way. In the long run, it’s not a sort of motivation that will end up being beneficial.

But I’m not here to talk about motivation, I’m here to talk about what you find your identity in. As of late, I’ve been finding my identity in my accomplishments. It is good to accomplish things.

But in the end, what will all those accomplishments mean? What will they truly mean? Our highest accomplishments are nothing, nothing, compared to the identity that we have in Christ.

Our accomplishments can be good things, great things. But we can’t rely on them. Everything in this world will one day pass away. None of the stuff, the things, that we have here today will be in heaven.

What will matter, is what we have done for Christ. What will matter is our relationship with Christ. He is who we must find our identity in. Anything else that we try to find our identity in won’t last. In the end, it will fade away.

But in Christ, we find that cornerstone. We find that stone foundation that we can rely upon through everything. He is someone who we can truly feel assured in. We can trust him.He already holds the whole world in his hands, but he gives us the opportunity to trust him as a friend, as our Savior.

Find your identity in Christ. Find your identity in the fact that you are a child of God. You are a child of God, created in His image, made because He wanted you. He made you because He loved you.

And even when we turned against Him, He loved us still. He loved us enough to have His Son die for us.

Do you see how beautiful that is? We can find our identity in the God of the universe. The God who created the world. The one how has been around for infinity. The one who was, who is, and who is yet to come.

That is who we need to find our identity in.

-G. Paige

One thought on “What do you find your identity in?

Comments are closed.