You don’t have to know what the future holds

youdon'thavetoknowhatthefutureholds

Hey, ya’ll! Sorry for the extremely long absence of late. My friend, Amanda, and her family came to Puerto Rico for a visit. It was ABSOLUTELY amazing. (And an a justifiable reason for taking a break from blogging. Haha…)

Anyways, taking a break from blogging and spending some time in deep conversation with a likeminded friend has really set my thoughts rolling. I’ve had a lot more time to think and contemplate stuff. I’ve had a lot of thoughts on my life and where it’s heading. On what I want to spend my time doing. On my writing. On my reading. And on all the other things that I aspire to do, but haven’t had the chance to do.

I think I may have learned a few things while taking this break too.

In trying to look ahead and think about where I’m going with my life, I’ve come to the realization that I have no true idea of where I’m going. I mean, I have ideas and I have aspirations. But nothing is set in stone, as of now. I’m in a bit of a limbo mode between trying to finish high school and wanting to start college.

But you know what?

I’m okay with it.

Well, maybe that’s not exactly true, it would be better to say that I am learning to be okay with it.

Yes, I do need to think about college and what I want to do and where I want to go. I can’t just abandon everything and just somehow hope that it all works itself out on its own. God was and is and will help us throughout our lives, but that doesn’t mean that He wants us to lay around and let Him do everything. That just won’t end up working out. If we’re true followers of Christ, we’re going to have to put forth some effort so that God may more fully reveal Himself in our lives. This is why we pray. Why we read our Bibles. Everything isn’t just going to happen on its own.

So, yes, I need to put forth some effort in my own life. But I don’t have be so intent on trying to figure where I’m going with my life, what my future is going to be like, that I lose sight of the big picture. That I only end up adding more stress and anxiety and worry in my life.

Because the important thing to remember is that God has a plan for each and everyone of our lives.

A long life is not assured to any of us. We’re not promised tomorrow. For all that we know, we could die tomorrow. But whether we live another seventy years or we die tomorrow, it is all a part of God’s plan. And His plan is the only plan that truly matters.

I’m learning to let go of my worries for the future. I don’t know what’s going to happen next. And I’m going to try to not let that bother me, because my life, my future, is in God’s hands. I want to to place my full trust in God that He has a plan for me even though I can not see it.

-G. Paige 

