Satisfaction Right Where You Are

satisfactionrightwhereyouare

I wish that I could say that I was able to find joy in every circumstance. I wish I could say that I knew that it would all turn out well in the end. I wish that I could tell say that I knew how all of this was going to fit into God’s plan for my life.

But I’m not able to find joy in every circumstance. Sometimes, I just don’t want to find joy in the circumstances that I am in. I’d much rather just wrap myself up in that blanket full of hurt, pain, pity, and disappointment. I don’t want to be joyful at times. And I don’t know if that will all turn out well in the end. I mean, I do know that when we’re in Heaven, all will be well. But I can’t say that it will turn out well here on Earth. And I also don’t know how all of the trials and triumphs we go through are going to play out in God’s plan. I don’t know God’s mind. Only He knows His intentions.

I’m just a human being.

And I must admit that I have trouble having a joyful heart. Sometimes, all I can seem to see in situations is the bad side of things. I might see the good side of it, but I don’t let myself focus on that. I focus on the bad side of it.

Sometimes it’s silly things like that one question that I missed in that test. Other times it’s that hour or two that I wasted doing something when I should’ve been doing something else. And I let it really get to me. Sometimes, that means me having a bad attitude for the rest of the day.

Proverbs 17:22

A cheerful heart is good medicine,
but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.

And yes, it does sap my strength. When I’m in a bad way, I find myself with no motivation for anything. I pretty much feel like doing nothing, though at the same time I feel guilty for feeling that way.

I’m not saying that we have to be joyful all the time.

Romans 12:12

Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.

I don’t think that the Bible means for us to be joyful all the time, but I think that it does mean for us to be satisfied. We can be satisfied with our situation in life. We can rest in the fact that we know that God does have a plan for us. We can rest in the fact that we don’t need to worry why we are where we are. And we can pray to find joy right where we are.

We don’t have to force joy, we just need to find it. There’s things to be joyful for all around us. Things that we take for granted. Things that we don’t even notice at things that we can be joyful for. Joy isn’t just something for all the major events in life, it is for the small and seemingly insignificant ones too.

Take time to find something to be joyful about today. You only get to live your life once.

-G. Paige

2 thoughts on “Satisfaction Right Where You Are

Leave a Reply

