Book Review: Unsanctioned Eyes (The Dragonfly: Book 1)

bookreviewunsanctionedeyesRating: 4/5 stars.

It’s been awhile since I read a book that I would consider a pleasure read, at least since before school ended. But this book was a great book to start off the summer with. I am really impressed. 

Known as the Dragonfly in very few circles, Quinn Rogers is a killer. A shadow. A ghost. She believes that he life is as good as it could ever be. She’s safe behind her knives and skills. She’s protected by a master assassin and those who work for him. But when a assignment goes wrong, she begins to question whether she is as safe as she thought. Maybe, maybe she’s been deceived this whole time. Can she trust anyone around her? Has she been set up from the beginning? She doesn’t know any of the answers, but she must find them if she is to survive. In a world full of deceptions, will she be able to find the truth? Or will she drown in the lies?

These characters were so…alive to me. They had such dynamic personalities. There’s Quinn. First of all, I love her name. More importantly, I found her strikingly realistic. She believes herself to be a monster. She relies on that belief. It’s her greatest strength…and her greatest weakness. She’s a bad person, one that murders people without a second thought. This is her life, the only kind of life that she could ever have. She knows that what she does is wrong, but she doesn’t believe that she can change. She’s been down this dark and lonely path for far too long. It was really cool to watch as her perspective changes and grows. Then there’s Nathan, an unlucky artist who gets caught up in this world of assassins. He’s another character that I found really realistic. I don’t know how else to describe it. He’s scared, horrified even, by what’s he finds himself entangled in. He just wants to go back to his normal life, but finds himself waiting for his death sentence. While he is scared, he places his trust in God. It takes him awhile, but he begins to see that even the most evil people can change because there is still good in them. Jason is a very intriguing. You can’t tell which side he’s on. Those he aligns himself with seems to change whenever he thinks it is necessary. Like any normal human, his decisions are sometimes controversial. He is reckless, like a teenager, but he also gets scared quicker than some. But he’s never afraid to protect those closest to him. Matt doesn’t play as big a part in this story, but I really liked him.  He’s kind and protective and willing to do what it takes for those he cares about. He’s not afraid to put his life on the life.

The world building was fantastic. I felt in love with it from the start, but that may be because it is set in London for most of the books. It switched to a few other places, but every time it felt so real and alive. I really feel like I’ve been to these places. I loved it!

The writing style was simple and elegant. In other words, perfect. I really enjoyed it. It was potent, powerful. It wasn’t overly dramatic. It felt very much like actual reality.

Wow. What a plot. What a plot. It draws you in from the beginning and it doesn’t let you go until the end. It was fast paced right from the start and I don’t think that it ever calmed down for a single moment. I mean, seriously, it moved fast. But the amazing part is that it never felt too fast. I don’t know how the author did it, but it was incredible. The action scenes were realistic. The car chases were thrilling. The assassinations were heartrending. It was beautiful to see how the author portrayed a main character that wasn’t a “good guy” without being morbid and very dark. I think that the author did an excellent job. It was quite incredible.

There was a little bit of language in this book, but it was only here and there. It’s also violent, but not overly so. Because of this, I’d recommend this to older teens and up.

So…I loved this book. It was such a refreshing read. If you are interested in thrillers, don’t pass this one up. Even if you aren’t interested in thrillers, try this. You don’t want to miss this one! I can’t wait to see more from this author!

I got this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

-G. Paige

